We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural idyll”
Review of Mohale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mohale Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likalaneng
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My only experiences of this lodge have been work-related, but I would love to have a more leisurely visit to take in the clean mountain air. The staff was helpful and the food excellent except the dessert buffet. The rooms were clean and functional, with dstv and tea station. There is a choice of rooms in the central building with baths, or the annex with showers.The annex is the place to book for self-catering option, with fridges and stoves, but alas no microwave oven. The lodge is undertaking modernisation of the rooms, whereby the bathrooms will have baths with shower to international standards. My room had an oil heater, which was a welcome comfort as the nights can get nippy even in autumn.
The view of the dam and mountains from some of the rooms is truly breathtaking. The swimming pool had fallen into disuse, but along with the tennis courts and nearby business complex, could provide all the distraction one needs on their semi-rural retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the dam, preferably at the end of the corridor (which can get a bit no...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roni28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We love the fact that you have summed up Mohale and the Lesotho experience perfectly. We hope to see you back at Mohale Lodge soon.

Warmest regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Mohale Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night and we found it just by following the large signposts from about 30km away. It is huge and very modern, built to accommodate the workers employed to build the adjacent dam but subsequently used as a conference venue for large government groups.
The check in process was very slow but all other service was good. Dinner was very good and the breakfast (buffet and a la carte cooked food) was also impressive.
The rooms were fine - nothing special but functional and clean with stunning views from the balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Steve and Amy,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef.

Safe travels and warm regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

[NB this is NOT at Mohales Hoek, but about 6 hours derive away near the Mohale dam GPS -29.478422,28.061264}

My wife was poorly so we stopped off here unexpectedly.

The place was empty when we arrived with a ghost like atmosphere
and numerous staff milling about. A government group arrived in the
evening but did little to give the place warmth.

I ate the buffet provided for the arrivals and it was reasonable.
The staff could not have been more helpful over getting some scrambled
eggs for my wife.

The price for B&B was negotiable!

Room fair, but no shower, bath only. Wi-Fi broken, TV in room with DST.
Excellent lightweight but warm quilt.

The whole place feels like a deserted holiday resort, and looks out of place
with modern symmetrical brick buildings in the rural Lesotho countryside.

I wouldn’t choose to stay here again but they provided a good port in a storm.

Room Tip: Ask for the main block, not annexes
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your review. Mohale is a very remote location and is suitable for those people looking to get far away from the madding crowd. We are glad to have been able to provide safe harbour from the storm.

We trust your wife is better and you have returned safely to the UK.

Warmest regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia_Tepliakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Likalaneng
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma Trading Post Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohale Lodge

Address: Ha Mohale | Private Bag A110 Maseru, Likalaneng 0100, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Likalaneng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likalaneng
Price Range: £94 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mohale Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohale Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore the rich natural splendours of Lesotho’s mountain Kingdom.This family-friendly lodge is ideal for those seeking an adventurous scape or wishing to reconnect with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mohale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing