We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking Service”
Review of Mohale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mohale Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likalaneng
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocking Service”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This review is regarding the customer service relating to a booking problem I had. I have not stayed at this hotel. I decided to write this review as I am absoutely shocked that a hotel can provide this level of customer service.

I requested a quote for this hotel in late July/early August, I cannot remember exactly. I wanted to visit for the August long weekend (9-11 August 2013). From the company website I requested a quote for the said dates.

I recieved the quote on the 25 August 2013. I had actually forgotten that I have made the requested and booked a different hotel for the long weekend. On recipet of the quote I read it 3 times to be sure that I had just recieved a quote for dates that had in fact past, two weeks ago.

If Mohale Lodge had just ignored my request as the date had clearly long passed, I wouldn't have even remembered requesting the quote.

I am shocked that a hotel can provide a potential guest with a quote of a date that has passed, this desplays a shocking level of service. Having worked in the hospitality industry myself I can honestly say this hotel should be ashamed.

Reading perivous reviews, it seems this hotel isn't very busy, could it be that they are to incompetent to even take advantage of potential customers such as myself?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for bringing to attention the delayed response in a requested availability, since we deal with over 55 online booking agents and a further 100 or so travel agents it is very difficult for us to nail down why there was a delayed response to your enquiry. Our direct reservation office responds immediately and there is no Mohale Lodge website, in fact we are about to launch the lodges website where guests will be able to do live bookings and see live availability.

We thank you for making your comments and are glad that you managed to enjoy the long weekend away, however we feel it was not an accurate review of Mohale Lodge since in fact you have never stayed there. We hope to accommodate you in the future and provide you with a true Mohale Lodge experience that we trust will allow you to post an accurate review of the lodge and your personal experience.

Sincerely,

The Mohale Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maseru, Lesotho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My only experiences of this lodge have been work-related, but I would love to have a more leisurely visit to take in the clean mountain air. The staff was helpful and the food excellent except the dessert buffet. The rooms were clean and functional, with dstv and tea station. There is a choice of rooms in the central building with baths, or the annex with showers.The annex is the place to book for self-catering option, with fridges and stoves, but alas no microwave oven. The lodge is undertaking modernisation of the rooms, whereby the bathrooms will have baths with shower to international standards. My room had an oil heater, which was a welcome comfort as the nights can get nippy even in autumn.
The view of the dam and mountains from some of the rooms is truly breathtaking. The swimming pool had fallen into disuse, but along with the tennis courts and nearby business complex, could provide all the distraction one needs on their semi-rural retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the dam, preferably at the end of the corridor (which can get a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roni28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We love the fact that you have summed up Mohale and the Lesotho experience perfectly. We hope to see you back at Mohale Lodge soon.

Warmest regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night and we found it just by following the large signposts from about 30km away. It is huge and very modern, built to accommodate the workers employed to build the adjacent dam but subsequently used as a conference venue for large government groups.
The check in process was very slow but all other service was good. Dinner was very good and the breakfast (buffet and a la carte cooked food) was also impressive.
The rooms were fine - nothing special but functional and clean with stunning views from the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Steve and Amy,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef.

Safe travels and warm regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

[NB this is NOT at Mohales Hoek, but about 6 hours derive away near the Mohale dam GPS -29.478422,28.061264}

My wife was poorly so we stopped off here unexpectedly.

The place was empty when we arrived with a ghost like atmosphere
and numerous staff milling about. A government group arrived in the
evening but did little to give the place warmth.

I ate the buffet provided for the arrivals and it was reasonable.
The staff could not have been more helpful over getting some scrambled
eggs for my wife.

The price for B&B was negotiable!

Room fair, but no shower, bath only. Wi-Fi broken, TV in room with DST.
Excellent lightweight but warm quilt.

The whole place feels like a deserted holiday resort, and looks out of place
with modern symmetrical brick buildings in the rural Lesotho countryside.

I wouldn’t choose to stay here again but they provided a good port in a storm.

Room Tip: Ask for the main block, not annexes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. Mohale is a very remote location and is suitable for those people looking to get far away from the madding crowd. We are glad to have been able to provide safe harbour from the storm.

We trust your wife is better and you have returned safely to the UK.

Warmest regards,

The Mohale Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Likalaneng
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mohale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohale Lodge

Property: Mohale Lodge
Address: Ha Mohale | Private Bag A110 Maseru, Likalaneng 0100, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Likalaneng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likalaneng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mohale Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohale Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore the rich natural splendours of Lesotho’s mountain Kingdom.This family-friendly lodge is ideal for those seeking an adventurous scape or wishing to reconnect with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mohale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing