We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and warm atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore

The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bluebell cafe is a small friendly place to relax in a lovely setting, sourcing local produce and producing freshly cooked foods. All profits go back into our charity which supports people with learning difficulties.
Chester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having read reviews of the Bluebell Cafe and a friend recommending it I decided to visit it. Took my dog for a walk in the surrounding area including the bluebell woods. I then put him in the car and went in the Bluebell Cafe just for a cup of coffee as it was only 11 am. On entering I was welcomed and given a menu. There was a good choice of food and drinks and what other people were eating looked very appetising so I ordered a bacon bap. It was delicious and just what I wanted on a cold morning! The full English breakfast looked good and it was obvious that some people had turned up specially for that. The ladies at the next table had their dogs with them and they explained that dogs are allowed in the cafe which is alo a plus for dog owners.The staff were all very friendly and allowed you plenty of time to look at the menu. I will certainly visit again and for cyclists it is on a cycle route. Visit the Bluebell Cafe and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    43
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It isn't the easiest place to find, but well worth the trouble. It's a lovely cafe with a choice of indoor and outdoor seating. The tea is served in china cups for those who like things traditional and there is a great choice of cakes and other lovely sweet treats. They also serve sandwiches and hot food, which certainly looked delicious. Prices are very reasonable and there is the added bonus of helping a charity.
I would definitely recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have just been for full English breakfast at Bluebell Café. Would highly recommend. Food freshly prepared and good local produce. Made to feel very welcome in such a beautiful setting. Lovely conservatory to sit in or if the weather warm, outside seating. Dog friendly with lovely walks around the bluebell woods or Barrowmore estate pathways for the pooches.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Wonderful location, fantastic café"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place was recommended to us by a friend, and we were not disappointed.

The location is absolutely beautiful. The food is what could be described as a mixture of good, honest grub and other quite fancy dishes. The ingredients were top-notch and the presentation was very good. The staff are volunteers, from what I understand, but they all worked really hard and were also polite and accommodating.

In terms of value-for-money, it would be hard to find anywhere that beats this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGrayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Real Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband was introduced to the Bluebell a few weeks ago on an organised walk when the group stopped for tea - he thought it was lovely so we went last week with our grandson two all day breakfasts and a welsh rarebit our food was delicious excellent produce and beautifully cooked it was all very well presented at affordable prices. Clare who looked after us was warm and friendly and even though the café was full still found time to chat.

We like the concept of the Bluebell - a wonderful find sitting in such a lovely position and we will definitely be going back very soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chestertravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore also viewed

 

Been to The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing