We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but praise on all counts”

The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bluebell cafe is a small friendly place to relax in a lovely setting, sourcing local produce and producing freshly cooked foods. All profits go back into our charity which supports people with learning difficulties.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing but praise on all counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Bluebell was recommended to me by a friend and how grateful I am for that. I can't count the number of times I have been with a variety of friends and have been so impressed each time. The quality of food, the generous helpings and the amazing value for money is beyond belief. In addition, the warmth and friendliness of the staff just make the Bluebell the best place to eat. And it is so good to know that as a social enterprise, others are benefitting from it too. Well done and thank you so much to all concerned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    44
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited The Bluebell cafe today based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were really glad we did. Lovely setting with nice outdoor space. Relatively small, but pretty cafe with conservatory area. It was quite busy and we were lucky to get a table, so would book a table next time just to make sure. Friendly staff and brilliant full English and veggie breakfasts, with high quality ingredients. The black pudding was so good we got some more to take home with us. Had to wait a while for the food, but the staff explained and apologised for this and it was understandable as they were busy and the breakfasts are cooked fresh to order - and worth the wait! They were good with our children and even brought our daughter a special child's plate and cutlery to use. Cakes looked so good we also got some to take away - and the chocolate brownies were particularly nice. Good price too. We can highly recommend it and will be going back again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Troyd186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just as good as we were expecting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Busy place, we were very happy with the service and prices. Staff seem very polite and engaged. It was fathers day when we went - everyone seemed very happy :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaviesHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just been to The Bluebell Cafe for the first time and it really does deserve all the great reviews. There is a lovely, warm, welcoming atmosphere. We both had full breakfasts (one veggie, one regular), delicious, not at all greasy, incredibly generous portions and amazing value for money. When you add on top that the cafe is run by volunteers as a charity it really couldn't leave you feeling better! I do think they could charge a bit more! Will definitely return, maybe for lunch next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FinchFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing food at a great price! Would be and has been recommended to anyone I know. Very happy with the service,price and good and will not hesitate to visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing