We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in beautiful surroundings”

The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Bluebell cafe is a small friendly place to relax in a lovely setting, sourcing local produce and producing freshly cooked foods. All profits go back into our charity which supports vulnerable people.
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This was our fourth visit and yet again we were amazed at the extensive specials on the day.
The menu is very good with a wide variety of main meals,sandwiches,salads etc buy the specials board always has some really yummy offerings.The homemade cakes are also sumptuous and scrummy too.
The staff are always welcoming and eager to please offering great advise on the menu,a great atmosphere and lovely area to take a walk after your lovely food.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DeebsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Finally visited the bluebell cafe after months of seeing great reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed! The food was absolutely lovely, fresh and full of flavour! I had the eggs florentine (£4.10) and my boyfriend had the eggs benedict (£4.25). Both arrived at our table quickly, and it was perfectly seasoned! Definitely the tastiest eggs florentine I've ever had!

We were both eager to try the desserts too - I had apple crumble & vanilla pod custard (crumble made to order) and my boyfriend had the cookies & cream cheesecake (no pictures unfortunately as they were wolfed down). Obviously there was a wait because the crumble was being made, but it was definitely worth it! It was our waitress' first day, she was attentive and very friendly, making conversation whenever she came over. She did a wonderful job!

Our food, 2 pots of earl grey and a deluxe hot chocolate came to £23.25, which I think is excellent for the quality, portion sizes and service!

The only thing I would recommend for people thinking of visiting is to book in advance! We went at the perfect time as a table was free, but we noticed it got busy very quickly & a lot of the tables became reserved around 12:30.

Can't wait to visit again!

Date of visit: March 2016
3  Thank SamanthaHobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Nice full English breakfast with the family at the Bluebell cafe today.
Quality bacon,sausage, portobello mushroom & nice runny egg, but I've had better black pudding & jumbo tomotoe was a bit hard. Still nice though, & served by the owners lovely children. Definitely go again.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank kevinfO9263LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Delightful Cheshire Cafe in a wonderful setting.Home-made soups, pastas omlettes, salads and gorgeous summer pudding. All served by professional, personable staff. Thank you. Return visit for sure.

Date of visit: March 2016
4  Thank infourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Based upon other reviews on TA took a friend for lunch here and it was EXCELLENT. All food cooked fresh with full flavour and perfectly seasoned. Soups truly homemade, Carrot and Coriander and Pea and Ham really well prepared - fresher and better than 99% of more expensive restaurants. Home made pasta dishes a gem, perfectly cooked, flavoursome generous proportions. The ladies running the Cafe are friendly and proud of their food and rightly so too. On way stopped and asked someone for directions, she smiled as she told us so I asked, "is it good.", she replied "No, it's better than good". She was right - truly is well worth a visit or two, or three etc.

Date of visit: March 2016
4  Thank Welltravelled1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.