We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the spot”
Review of India Palace

India Palace
Ranked #78 of 170 Restaurants in Cookeville
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

None of the dishes have been stellar examples of their kind when compared to those I've had elsewhere. But, as I don't know of any other Indian restaurants in the area, India Palace hits the spot when I get a hankering.

The owner will question you if you ask for "hot" or "spicy". I told him "very hot". He asked if I was sure? I said I was. I was not prepared for how hot it was. Appreciated the warning I got. Didn't listen to it, unfortunately. He is a very nice man and provides good service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleH325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The owners are some of the most awesome people you will ever meet. The food is great whether you like it regular or really really spicy. Tons of dishes to choose from and a few types of beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DTW117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try a walk on the Indian side”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have only tried this restaurant twice but both times we had an excellent meal. As mentioned the owners are very gracious hosts and everything is prepared from scratch so expect a little wait. The wait is worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedBeyondWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Food is excellent but the owners child or grandchild running around and hanging over the seats is quite annoying when you are trying to enjoy your food. Otherwise the food is great but that one aspect made us stay away.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank divaka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Point, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The owner is very accomodating for your taste in Indian Food. We like HOT so he will add spices and ingredients to make the food as we like it. The buffet at lunch is very good; but we prefer ordering off the menu

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZuZusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to India Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing