We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising good mexican food”

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 169 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprising good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Typical mexican style you see in the midwest outside of Texas or So. California. Quick service, always tasty and insanely large beers. Get a small or medium if you are having a cerveza.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    60
    33
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are ever in Cookeville, driving near it, or just out for a road trip with good food, you need to go to this restaurant. The food was wonderful, the people a pleasure, and you won't get sticker shock at the end of the meal. We visited after a grueling soccer event and the staff took great care of my kids. I will definitely be back over and over again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catgordon1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No regrets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This location was near my hotel, and I thought I would give it a try. Service was excellent in all regards. I enjoyed the chips and salsa, chips were light and crispy and salsa well seasoned. I had chicken fajitas that were wonderful! Be sure and bring a big appetite!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebraF003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not Bad For East of the Mississippi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having spent years in the Texas Hill Country and dined often in the area around San Antonio, generally avoid Mexican restaurants anywhere East of the Mississippi River. Being long overdue for s TexMex "fix" I followed the advice of several business associates and tried this place. I'll have to admit that it was pretty darned good. My combination plate satisfied my craving for Mexican fare.
Two minor warnings: Their Pico de Gallo has MORE than adequate jalepeno! And if your waiter asks whether you want a small or a large cerveza, ask whether they've discontinued the medium. He didn't mention THAT choice. The large is 33 ounces served in a mug too heavy for ME to lift with one hand!
This place is worth the short
1 & 1/2 block drive off the Interstate.

Helpful?
Thank Bartemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Pass Here Without Sopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Whenever we drive on Interstate 40 and pass through Cookeville, TN we stop at El Tapatio for a delicious lunch or dinner. I absolutely love their Chilis Rellenos, although it is under a different name on their menu. They serve huge portions. The service is friendly, attentive and efficient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MemphisTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing