We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spankies - Bar

Spankies - Bar
Ranked #19 of 167 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We ate here on a recent trip and the food and drinks were all very good (I had the shrimp taco's and the Mac and Cheese my daughter couldn't finish). It was a bit pricy and they gave you just enough food to leave full but not stuffed. I'd go back for a special treat but not just a "normal" dinner out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“college bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

good waiter.

good nartinis

Ceasar salad lacking sufficient croutons

Fish and chips not great. Fish was mushy, not firm===either over or under cooked

Chicken Quisedia generous portions.

Coffee so weak didn't drink

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derfberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dependable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Eaten here several times and always the same. Good atmosphere and when in doubt come here. Reasonably priced and nice outdoor area. It isn't great but it is good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so clean...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I've been twice. The food was pretty good, but the restaurant didn't feel clean. I know, I know. It's a local tradition; it's a college hang-out. But I don't enjoy having lunch where the tables and floor are sticky from beer spilled the night before. The chairs are also badly in need of repair. The outdoor bar area REEKS of cigarette smoke. I posted a similar review about a year ago and it has "disappeared". Let's see if this one makes the cut.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlessedBeyondWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, great bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

These place just oozes atmosphere - in a positive way. The menu is way beyond "bar food" and will satisfy just about any taste. The cheesy bread is addictive - watch out!

Excellent selection of beers. Regular live music.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spankies - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing