We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
TN
Level Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We planned some outdoor activities in the area (hiking, geocaching, and after our stay we were headed backcountry camping at Fall Creek Falls) and just needed an inexpensive place to rest, shower, and store gear while we were out enjoying nature - we did not plan to spend much time at the hotel...
The hotel is a challenge to get in and out of - most of the parking is around the back with a one-lane path to get there. We were there during some sort of weekend wrestling tournament and it was very crowded - we could not park anywhere near our room. The hotel had no cart so we made many trips from the car (since we had out camping gear for later). The room smelled very foul and the ice bucket had mold growing in it. The bed linens were stained and dirty - with hair on them. The exercise room is not well maintained or accessible. We had to obtain a key fro the front desk - which did not work. So we had to be escorted by hotel staff to the fitness room through the "business center" where we discovered it was only a few machines in a stuffy small room and neither of the treadmills were actually working. The pool was nice with a slide - smaller than the photo would make it appear. We had to wait 30 minutes one morning for them to open it up - it is gated and locked. We attempted the breakfast buffet one morning but there was very little food left (recall the hotel was pretty crowded that weekend), no forks, no clean tables, and we had to ask for plates. We managed to get a waffle, one container of yogurt, and some warmed up sausage patties (no eggs left, no toast, no pastries, no bacon). Several times when we returned to the room, our room keys would not work (and yes, we were very careful not to put them near something that would erase the data on the magnetic strip). It seems many others had the same problem because there was always a LONG line of people also replacing room keys.
We were not expecting a lot for an inexpensive hotel option and did not spend much time around the hotel - even so, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We appreciate you review although it is extreamly exaggerated, for prospective guest kindly acknowledge that in the business of hospitality is would be difficult to please all the people all the time but we try. Please have an open disposition and view other comments as well. We welcome you and the challenge would be to live up to your expectations. Come see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    50
    27
    35
    50
See reviews for
77
35
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I would really like to thank the management and staff for their hospitality during my stay at the Clarion Inn, it was indeed a pleasure to return and see familiar faces and experience the warmth from the staff. Though I did not go with my family I must say that it is an excellent place for children as the indoor pool is always buzzing with activity. A must stay for the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We thank you for you review and look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Clustered around the interstate are many chain hotels and restaurants. The Clarion Inn has an indoor pool and an attached restaurant/bar. Food is your typical sports bar fare with karaoke on Thursday night. (Reminder, you can smoke in bars in Tennessee) Front desk staff was helpful. Free parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSwann991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks for you review, it was our pleasure to serve you. Visit us soon again and make sure you enjoy Ms. Peaches southern cooking in the Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Pool area is great for kids. They will enjoy the slide. Hotel has workout area and restaurant. No free breakfast is included with this hotel. They offer a breakfast buffet for around $5. Not bad. They have bacon, sausage, cereal, eggs, waffles, juice, etc.

Has a business center with one computer. Has workout room.

My room was clean and in good shape except the door and drapes. I included pictures of these. Not very attractive, but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
My staff and I thank you for your comments and we have taken you critisims positively with the aim of improvement. We thank you for your stay and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Love the indoor pool. The sports bar was very entertaining and the best wings I've had in a while. Melissa our bartender took very good care of us I would definitely recommend staying here if your passing through or even if I was a local I believe I would make an excuse to stop by and visit the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sklavos71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
I thank you for your review. Melissa and the Bar staff strive to please, it is kind of you to bring that recognition, we thank you. Ms Peaches has received several compliments on her southern cooking and of course her wings which we are being told exceeds the flavor of our competition.
Thanks for your review, we look forward to serving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The breakfast buffet was one of the best that I've ever encountered. Food was well prepared and maintained during breakfast hours right to the end of the serving time. A large selection with some variance from day to day. Excellent coffee that a huge group of drivers in training were raving about at the next table.

However, stray hairs on pillow not either of our length or color, hair in tub. Carpet was not vacuumed during our three day stay. Room was cramped with new furniture not designed for the ancient room. Window treatments were only sheers. Room could be clearly seen from parking lot and vice versa. We were on display. Plugs did not work by the bedside so no alarm clock or ability to charge phone on bedside table.

The first day of our stay our keycards were cancelled while we were out for the day, requiring us to walk to the lobby for new ones. Clerk claimed that it was from contact with credit cards although mine was never in contact with any of my cards, kept in a thick separate pocket apart from cards for that reason. Staff was pleasant but tentative and confused. The breakfast attendant for the first two days never spoke to me or even made eye contact.

I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
I thank you for you review it is appreciated and I apoligize for any inconvenience you experienced. I have addressed the housekeeping issues you mentioned. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cookeville hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Rooms were newly refurbished and wonderful. Breakfast buffet was terrific with hot items including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, waffles and more.

Great atrium with indoor/outdoor pool and Half-Time sports bar was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
We (my staff and I) thank you for your review, come and see us again soon, and remember the World Karaoke Championship competition starts Thursday, February 28th 2013 and continues for 10 consecutive Thursdays, great prizes to be won including a chance to represent the USA in Finland. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 970 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing