We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved 110%”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've stayed an extended stay here. When I first checked in, rooms were less than satisfactory and service was sub par. During my stay, they got a new general manager, William Mattingly I believe was his name. The place has improved greatly. They now have the most helpful housekeeping staff I've seen yet. The young man that cleaned our rooms, 2nd floor executive wing, I think his name was roger. He is 100x better than the ones that were there before him. I've seen him several times just drop what he was doing to help someone else. He was really polite and put the guests first. And charity at the front desk, above and beyond. No questions asked, just eager to assist the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernest_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! My staff and I are so happy that our Valued Customers are noticing our hard work! We take providing a clean room and positive experience very serious! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were there for a fun night out. Nice pool area, lots of bars and restaurants around. Nice sports bar in hotel. We swam , ate, partied, then came home and had a nightcap and walked to our room. We got a senior discount, so the value of the hotel was great. And the breakfast bar was huge and well maintained! We're going back!

Room Tip: lower level rooms open to the indoor pool area, and the outdoor pool is connected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonga69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for taking time to post a review! I appreciate your saying it, you get a lot of bang for the buck here at the Clarion! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was nice but it was the staff that made this a great overnight stay. The front desk called our room to see if everything was OK or if we needed anything. And had the best breakfast buffet we have ever seen in a hotel in this price range. While checking out we made a reservation for our return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Me and my staff are working hard to provide a clean room with great service! Feels great to hear we are reaching our goals! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here for a quick pass through visit and have to say that it was a perfect choice for my needs. Staff responded quickly and professionally to all my requests and I had a comfortable nights sleep. Great choice for travelers. I would choose this hotel again! Thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank SeasonedTravelor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. My staff and I thank you for your positive comments! We have worked hard to make certain our guests receive a clean room with fantastic service for a reasonable price! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have been staying here for over 10 years now always a great staff great breakfast and just great place to stay overall from the front desk to the great people at the breakfast buffet always there to help and willing to every time I am in Cookeville I always stay here

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyky1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. My staff and I are very proud of the progress we have made great customer service and providing a great experience! The breakfast is fantastic! I have not found a complimentary breakfast any where that compares! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was in town on business and spent last night at the hotel. Everyone who was working at the hotel was so nice and everything went very smoothly. The room was comfortable and clean. I'll stay again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for the positive review and comments. My staff and I are working very hard to provide great service and and a clean room! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I tried to book a room at this hotel but the clerk kept putting me on hold. The first time I was on hold for 10 minutes. I hung up and called back and the clerk said "hold please". I told her "No, you already put me on hold for 10 minutes" and she put me on hold anyway. I called again, She did the same thing. The fourth time I tried to ask for a manager, but she hung up on me. Never, EVER again. If you treat me this way on the phone, how on earth would you treat me in person??? BAD, BAD customer service. No wait...NO customer service from very rude desk clerk!!! Manager, owner...do you know how your front desk staff treats prospective customers?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank geoiggits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to point out your experience! I have recently been hired to correct problems such as this. Please next time in Cookeville contact me personally and I will make certain your stay is a great one! William, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Cookeville
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
0.1 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 970 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing