We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work trip .. two nights”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Work trip .. two nights”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've stayed at a few other hotels in Cookeville and on my list, I put this hotel in the lower third for the places I've stayed at in Cookeville.

Positives
1. Near the interstate.
2. Indoor outdoor pool.
3 Restaurant and "game" room in the lobby.

Considerations
1. The hotel is sort of awkward to get into and out of - the main entrance is near a major intersection, it's almost impossible to turn left from the main entrance.
2. The rooms and facility need an update - the furnishings, layout, style are all dated.
3. The rooms in the back of the facility seem abandoned or maybe they're being used for storage, regardless it looks sketchy and makes the place look sort f run-down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MR_Smith_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Our hotel may not be perfect but it is clean and we provide excellent customer service! Its definitely the best value in Cookeville! William, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    50
    27
    35
    50
See reviews for
77
35
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Clean and nice Room, very comfortable beds, down pillows, I was quite pleased overall. It's not a brand new hotel, so don't expect a New York high rise. Good parking, great location near all the restaurants. Free WIFI. The pool is actually indoor and outdoor, but only goes to 4 feet deep (mostly a pool for the kids with a neat little water slide). Hot tub located by the pool for mom and dad. Priced reasonable and free hot breakfast. We stayed here during a weekend getaway to Cummin's Falls. By the way - if you're in the area and have the time - GO visit that place. Outstanding!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for something close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! My staff and I work hard to make certain our valued customers receive clean rooms and excellent service! William, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This location was wonderful. Clean Rooms, great price! I loved that there was a bar ajoined to the lobby. The food was wonderfull also! Myself and my work crew enjoyed the stay. Our guys enjoyed the pool and the computer room that was available. I can't rave on enough about the staff here. I would recommend this hotel for any traveling in the area or just a quick getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kswiss3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Its always great to hear positive feedback! It lets us know that we are accomplishing the goals we have set! We work and train hard to provide clean rooms with excellent customer service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Clean room, great staff. Very polite and accommodating. We enjoyed being very close to the pool. Pool and whirlpool very clean. The food in bar was wonderful and the staff! Breakfast bar the next morning was terrific! The bacon is to die for! Trust us one of us is picking about bacon. We plan on doing this again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejwillard70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! I am happy to hear your Birthday went well! Yes breakfast is wonderful, bacon is one of my favorites also! William, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have no clue why this hotel rates so low. The free breakfast (coupons with check-in) was buffet style, the bed was large, firm, and clean. The shower was even had a functional massage head! The size of the room was larger than usual for this price-range. The king bed/sofa bed combo worked well for myself and two kids.

My kids LOVED the pool (both indoor and outdoor) AND the "fancy slide" that added a whole level of fun for them. It appears that this used to be owned by a more upscale hotel chain...but Clarion/Choice has done a great job maintaining that quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PathfinderMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Thanks for pointing out this hidden gem of a hotel! Its definately the best bang for the buck in Cookeville! William, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I am so thankful The Clarion had a room available. We had car trouble on I-40 and had to have our van towed to the Honda dealership in Cookeville. We walked into the Clarion at 9:30 pm. The staff was courteous and helpful. We got 10% off (some promotional deal) so, the price for two queens was $67 a night! I know there have been some bad reviews but we have had no issue with this hotel. The beds are comfortable, the room was clean, and we appreciated the vouchers for a free full breakfast. There is free wifi. The manager offered to shuttle us somewhere if we needed him to. Sure, this hotel could use some updating, but it's fine. The manager said they are getting ready to do a one million dollar renovation so it should be even better soon.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulsamomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I really appreciate your review because of how accurate it is! We may not be the newest hotel but we are the cleanest, best customer service, and best bang for the buck! William, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owings mills maryland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were passing thru going to Memphis and we needed a hotel for the night. We received a senior discount which made the stay even better. Lots of restaurants conveniently located in walking distance to the hotel. The breakfast bar at the hotel was plentiful and good. There is an inside and outside pool, meeting rooms, exercise room and on site bar. The room was clean, just needed to be updated and the air condition is loud when on. We would stay again if we needed a night stay. The check/desk lady was extremely friendly as well as the rest of the staff. It is always good when the staff appreciate the visitors.

Room Tip: inside facing the pool, nicer view than outside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I appreciate your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 970 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing