We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with location drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Pros: Fantastic price! This BW is a classic-style motel with exterior rooms; my king room was on the ground floor so I parked right outside my door. The room is a good size with a work desk, comfortable chair with ottoman (and side table), flat-screen TV, and fridge/microwave. A double sink! (not necessary since I'm traveling solo, but would be handy for a couple) The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. I don't know how full the motel was that night, but I didn't hear outside noises. Breakfast is free and fresh coffee is available all day. You're close to all the traveler-oriented businesses in Cookeville (translation: gas stations and chain restaurants).

Cons: There are a couple drawbacks to the location. The motel includes a popular Tex-Mex restaurant so there's a lot of foot traffic and extra car traffic during dinner hours. I couldn't even get into the (only) entrance to the motel on my first try because it was blocked with cars idling outside the restaurant; also be alert for margarita-enhanced people in the parking area. The motel is on the northbound side of Jefferson Avenue; not a problem when you're coming from the interstate, but good luck making the left turn back onto Jefferson Avenue to get back to the interstate.

Unfortunately management can't change the location issues, but they've done an excellent job with everything else. If TripAdvisor allowed half-stars, I'd give this BW 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable, though pet friendly. The breakfast looked good and I took two boiled eggs and some pastry to eat later when I arrived at my conference. I should have just taken the pastry. The eggs were sour. One bite and I had a sour/moldy taste/smell. I spit out what I could but later ended up sick. If you stay here, don't eat the eggs or enjoy breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel was excellent in every way. The room was clean, the lobby was done in a eye pleasing color and tastefully decorated, the room was also very comfortable. The room was as I had requested, two queen beds. Over all, the hotel was one of the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jamesmS7050LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This BW is centrally located near numerous fine dining restaurants. The staff is helpful and the rooms and other areas are clean and well maintained. The business area could be relocated to provide more privacy. Some expansion of the breakfast offerings could be made.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I am SO glad I chose to stay here! Leca at the front desk is so sweet and helpful, and my room is amazing. Very clean, super cozy beds, and so much space. Love it. My favorite part ... the little paper bag of doggie treats for my dog at check-in! Cute! I highly recommend this hotel. And Cookeville is an excellent place to stop for the night - every restaurant you could want is here, and a Starbucks! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff at check-in were professional. They were accomodating except for the drag racing in the parking lot our last night there. They don't give reward points, instead they give you a complimentary guest packet w/ a bottle of water and baby bag of chips. It is good for location. There were plenty of restaurants to eat at nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Best Western Thunderbird Motel is a fine, clean motel in Cookeville, TN. It's a good value and a comfortable place to stay. Fine staff and accommodations. It's located right in Cookeville and is adjacent to good restaurants and service centers. Several in our group of friends stayed here and were very happy with the motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank WGBcaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing