We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say, Nothing really good either...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this place because of the price, knowing that it wasn't going to be a Hilton. Everything was to be expected, nothing great or awful. On the upside, they were installing new granite on all the first floor rooms as of 6/10/14. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a one night stay on a through trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank MoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. We have installed new granite vanities in all of our rooms and there are other improvements to come. I hope you stop by again the next time you are travelling in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in March 2014. Located near the interstate so very accessible. Motel style, with parking right outside ground floor rooms. Right on a main road so quite noisy. Some interesting characters in the parking lot at night. Room had a very large king bed, but was very dated overall. Bathroom had pink and white tile! They have a free continental breakfast available. While this was adequate if you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night while on a road trip, I'm not sure if I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on the second floor; might be a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monks-in-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Monks,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the feedback our guests give us so we can continue to improve our motel. We are constantly updating the property. Just a few weeks ago we replaced the vanities and sinks. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hubby and I don't usually do motels, but on this road trip, we had to do a couple, and we chose this one because of the reviews. In order to be in a non-smoking king that was quiet, we ended up upgrading to a king suite in the back building, which was pretty quiet. For a motel, it was pretty good. The bed was comfortable and the suite size about average, and seemed to be fairly clean. The a/c unit wasn't too loud, and we managed to get a good night sleep. Breakfast was more continental than full, though they did have a waffle maker there. Coffee pretty weak, but hot and wet, anyway. Adequate for the price, but wouldn't want to stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that even though you prefer hotels over motels that you were able to have a good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We both woke up in the middle of the night and I saw something crawling on the bed, caught and killed it, blood spurted out, then upon further inspection saw several more and some very tiny ones, all had blood in them. Night staff brought more sheets, but after putting them on, which I had to do myself, more bed bugs appeared, so we checked out at approximately 3:00 a.m. We used member points so no money was lost. Called manager the next day, he did not seem to believe us, but did say that sometimes, these thing happen. These things should Never happen, there are procedures and precautions that can be taken. Will never stay at this hotel again and now we are skittish about staying at any BW hotel, and have always been extremely satisfied with BW's until now. Bed Bugs are just not acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Barbara -

Allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We do check the rooms regularly for bed bugs, and Orkin sprays the rooms and property as a preventative measure every month. After you called and expressed concern over your stay, we had Orkin come and do an extra spray and inspection of the room. Although they found no sign of bed bugs, this does not mean we do not believe you. We further did a deep cleaning of the room including the mattresses, drapes, and carpets. We understand your concerns and hope that you will give Best Western another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The service and accommodations were great!!! There were several different men staying and working on the property questioning my thirteen year old daughter and her two friends. "Where are you going?" "How old are you?" "Do you want to hang out?" There were a couple of men who questioned them that watched them while they were swimming. Needless to say, I was out there with them to make sure they were ok. It just wasn't a safe atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide our property with feedback about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Whether you decide to stay with us again or not, please do not hesitate to let any desk staff know about any problems you have while staying. We all want our guests to feel safe and comfortable while staying with us.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Requested a ground level room 2 weeks before stay...didn't get one. Was not very impressed with the lady at the desk either.
Everything else was good. Room was clean, comfortable bed with good pillows. Good quite AC too.
Didn't try the cereal and rolls breakfast. We opted for a real breakfast, then skip lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am sorry to hear you were not able to get your request for a ground floor. We try our best to make sure every guest gets a ground floor when requested, but there are times when we are very busy that we are not able to do that.
I am glad the rest of your stay was to your liking.

If you wish to speak, you can always contact me between 7am and 3pm, Monday through Friday at 931-526-7115.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Could not connect to the internet in the room had to stand outside. There were ticks, i found 3 dog ticks on me in the morning. the beds were very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor which was supposed to be no smoking and no animals. so they put an animal in that room or they brought the ticks with them in the sheets. horrible stay will never stay again. there are better hotels for the money in that town.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor. go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Miranda -
I am sorry to hear your stay was not the pleasant experience we strive to give all of our guests. If you would like to speak with us further about this and see if there is something we can do so you will try us again, please call our property Monday - Friday, between 7am and 3pm CDT and ask for the Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing