We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cabin in the Mountains with a view”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the deck
middle bedroom small bedroom bunk beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
view from the deck
middle bedroom
small bedroom bunk beds
cabin interior
master bathroom
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cosby, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MSpranger...
Sherwood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cabin in the Mountains with a view”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Finding the cabin in the light of day will be much easier than getting there after dark. The view is wonderful right off the deck which is where we enjoyed dinner that first night.

We were a little concerned when we arrived to see that this is 2 cabins attached together that share the same deck. We were the only guests so we had the deck to ourselves. I'm guessing/betting they only rent the one side to one family/group at a time but you might want to ask to be sure. Maybe the owner will respond to this review and clarify that.

I'm used to the woods and bugs but there are some big bee's in those mountains! They stuck to the gutter/soffit areas of the cabin or by the one window (away from the deck) that they happened to burrow through the wood near (We never had any inside the cabin). We only had 1 that bothered us in 3 nights and that was a short lived event. There were a few mosquitoes when we were there at the end of June 2014 but not that many. One small lizard of some kind offered some entertainment that first night as we ate our late dinner but then we never saw that again the rest of our stay. The kids were bummed because they wanted to try to catch it.

The only problem we had was the refrigerator/freezer quit working the first night there. I notified the owner right away and while we were out for the day he let me know that he couldn't get it working again and they couldn't get a full size unit delivered, (it was the weekend) so he provided a smaller, dorm room size, unit for the rest of our stay. He did move my beer from the broken unit to the new unit so it would be cold when we returned from our days adventures.

No cable/satellite TV (fine with me!) so the kids played monopoly when we weren't out exploring the park and monopolized the table while they were at it! When they weren't doing that they were "swimming" in the "swimming pool" (aka Jacuzzi!)

I would stay here again but to be honest I personally would look for something on a stream/creek. The mountain view was very nice and it was very quiet (no traffic noise, occasional dog barking in the valley below, and could hear conversations echo to the top of the mountain occasionally but it was faint echos) but the kids had more fun playing in the creek at the 2nd cabin we rented than looking at the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and the view of the mountains.
Liked least: Bee's because the kids wig out even when they aren't near you.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Thank you for the review. We are sorry again for the fridge we finally got a new one there two days after your check out. You are correct we only rent out one side at a time unless it is a large group that needs the extra room. We are also adding some video games for the kids to play. Please consider us again in the future. thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
11
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
There were no complaints until a portion of the deposit was keep due to damage and not following cabin rules. our rules state no smoking in the cabin , no buts left on the deck and all lights be turned off. all of these rules were broken. i addition the camera which is placed to record the front door was damaged in order to hide the activities that damaged the fire pit which has been replaced. our cabin was just cleaned prior to their arrival and treated for winter. all the wood floors, walls and furniture was treated with a lemon cleaner to prevent drying out during the winter, this was the only odor in the cabin, and the carpet floors were swept using a professional grade carpet cleaner. our dishes are inspected and cleaned if needed after each guest, they are not sanitized but they are cleaned as well as all kitchen surfaces. our cabin has changed since the video with the addition of window air and the gazebo and another table on the deck, other then this the video is still the same. all of our deck chairs are in good condition as well as the cushions which are less then a year old the gazebo top is stained due the falling leaves it gets a through cleaning before being put away for winter. the screen gets tiny holes due to the squirrels climbing it, as we are in the smoky mountains we do get a lot of animals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EMSChief6...
Hughesville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Cabin with Great Mountain View”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It was myself, wife, my mother and two kids 11yrs and 13yrs. It was a very nice cabin but a little difficult to get up to due to how steep the mountain roads are going up to the cabin. Do not take a car without AWD or 4WD and get there during the day time not at 10:00pm like we did. It was a very quiet area and peaceful. Couldn't get the Direct TV to work so bring DVDs or Videos to watch but we were fine without it all. We enjoyed our stay and will return again in the future. Enjoy. David and Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful Area and the Mountain Views
Liked least: The poor road conditions to get up to the cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
thank you for the review. we are sorry about the road conditions. unfortunately this is a county maintained road and they have considered our road a low priority. as for the tv we do not have any satellite or cable for the cabin we only have over the air. however we do have dvd and vcr players as well as hook ups for video games, also we have old fashion board and card games.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing