We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick with Pizza or salad bar”

Gondola Pizza House
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Crossville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
CROSSVILLE
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stick with Pizza or salad bar”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have tried to like this restaurant as it is so popular with the locals but other than the pizza,it is awful. I have had a hamburger I brought home to the dogs, fried shrimp I could not eat as they were hard as a rock and all breading, cold veggies the butter would not melt on, lasagna with no cheese only a sprinkling of mozzarella on top. The pizza is tolerable and if in the mood for soup and salad bar,it is OK. Just don't understand the attraction for this restaurant. My fried shrimp, beverage and tip came to $15 which would have been fine if the food was good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nysouthernyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    63
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great value ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Glad we decided to give them a try! Good selection for the salad. Prices were very good as well as the food. Would not hesitate to go next time we come to Crossville.
I saw a $$$$ classification and have no idea who made that mistake. Extremely affordable, especially for what you get!

Helpful?
Thank JerryL-PinPkFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place to get together with friends and/or family and have some decent food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The food is nothing extra fancy, but it is well prepared.

There is a full salad bar on the right when you walk in that you can get as a meal in itself, or add it to your meal.
The restaurant offer soup, sandwiches, subs, pizza and calzones, and my personal favorites: Gyros and Greek salads.(to make the salad extra special, be sure to ask for the romaine lettuce instead of the iceberg) The Gyros are always good and hot, and the titziki sauce is wonderful. The greek salads are huge, so be forewarned.

They also have a dinner menu that includes pastas,shish kabobs. chicken etc. The steaks are a toss up. Sometimes they're good, other times they are not.
They offer beer, soft drinks, water, and iced tea. No wine or liquor.
I would never recommend the iced tea as it has always been watery and tasteless since i have been coming here.(10 years).
The tables are close together, but not too close. Sometimes it's hard to get by.

The waitresses are helpful and friendly.
The inside could use some brighter lighting and some renovations.

The check out process has always been more complicated than it needs to be. As new customers are walking in, they have to squeeze by the people who are trying to pay their bill.

Be sure to get there early on the week-ends, nights and holidays, or expect to have to wait to get a table.

Please don't forget to tip the waitresses. They work extra hard there because the place is usually under- staffed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the best place in town to eat. Good steaks, chicken , sandwiches and the pizza is the best. They also have a great salad bar. Service and atmosphere is very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jake1599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You can't get too picky in Crossville”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had dinner with friends after golf at Fairfield Glade. (What a wonderful place that is!) I had the shish kabob and my friends had a pizza. We both had the (expensive, yet average) salad bar. My kabob, with a huge side order of broccoli was tasty, but average. The pizza was "runny" compared to normal pizzas. The beer selection was limited to the Budwiser group with the exception of Heinekin. The atmosphere is "busy".

Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gondola Pizza House also viewed

 

Been to Gondola Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing