We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Eat in Crossville”

'The Beef and Barrel Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Crossville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local restaurant - do not believe they have a website
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Crossville”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I eat here regularly. Everything they serve is very good, plain cooking with a twist. This is what I'd describe as a modern pub - alcohol served by the drink with a bar in back, but mostly restaurant seating, tables or booths. The service is friendly and efficient (most of the time - big parties can cause delays). I've eaten here with numbers in my party from 2-10, and always been satisfied. The owner of this restaurant owns two or three others in town. Soups are a specialty - try the Reuben soup for an original and delicious side. There are plenty of salads, and fresh fruit is available as a side, as well. This used to be the only place in town you could get a Reuben sandwich, and theirs are still the best. The loaded potato skins are also spectacular, and you can order your fries extra crispy. They have a varied menu and a great, down-home atmosphere. I'm in one group that goes here for lunch every single week. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    80
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Diamond in the ruff.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stopped for very late lunch and were so pleased i sought out the manager to say so. Service was great as was the food and value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Empiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville Tn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Hubby and I frequent Beef and Barrel weekly. From the salad to the soup (homemade) and the entree all are terrific. They have the best Reuben around, pair it with the coleslaw and fries. Also, for the early diner, they have a 3 to 5 dinner. Many choices and include soup or salad, bread, entree, and desert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kara1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenback, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great salad”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I ordered chili and house salad. Both were good, salad had very fresh ingredients. Nice clean restaurant with bar/lounge in the back, great staff, good prices. My husband and I both had only one complaint and that was we did not like the ranch dressing .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Onion Rings”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The wait staff was friendly and the service was good.The Onion Rings were great, thick cut, perfectly coated in batter, and served hot. My party also ordered the loaded cheese fries which were good as well. My bacon cheese was good, cooked as I requested. What would have made the burger better, in my opinion, is if it would have been served on a home made bun. I recommend giving this place a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_finds_the_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 'The Beef and Barrel Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing