We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halcyon Days - CLOSED

Halcyon Days
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Whenever we want a special night out we go to this restaurant. We have never been disappointed. We always reccomend this restaurant to our friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Empiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“our favorite”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We love the atmosphere and the service. Great taste and presentation of your meal.
They have a very good selection and good quality. Their special of 2 for $22 is super,
soup or salad, entree and dessert to share. The selection can not be beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gramshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Rose Among Thorns”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Crossville, TN has been our home for about 10 years. It has a lot going for it on the Cumberland Plateau near I40 between Nashville and Knoxville, e.g., great weather, marvelous scenery, low taxes and nice people. But for anyone who wants to dine on haute cuisine, this is not the place. In Crossville as a matter of fact, restaurants with white table cloths are the exception.

That said, Halcyon Days DOES have cuisine, a reasonable wine list, white table cloths, an atmosphere and service that is a cut above Crossville's standard. Since we retired here it has been our "go to" restaurant for special occasions such as birthdays, out of town guests, etc. Our other option would have to be long jaunts to the large cities.

The menu is strongly slanted to Italian dishes that are usually, but not invariably, well-prepared. It is one of a very few places to offer escargot or Scottish salmon as appetizers. By ordering ahead, management will have lobster available for you or your party. Service is also a cut above the norm both in terms of dress and demeanor. This may be because I believe the servers are part and parcel of the family ownership.

Because it does offer more than the norm, the tab will necessarily reflect this. Halcyon Days is not Flemings or Ruth Chris's, but it isn't the polar opposite either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent menu”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Quiet restaurant without loud music or TV's loud. The menu is pleasing,Food good & reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great. The best food in Crossville!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Had large party of 12 ladies dining together. Staff warm and welcoming. BYOB with small corkage fee. Excellent lamb, steak, stuffed trout. The desserts were wonderful especially the table side bananas foster. What a show. Chris the waiter knew how to have fun and provide excellent service. We will return! Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank hmc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing