We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous trip down the river.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocoee Rafting

Ocoee Rafting
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Ducktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocoee Rafting is the oldest outfitter and the prefered company on the Ocoee River, providing guided whitewater rafting adventures for 35 years. Since 1976 Ocoee Rafting has welcomed you to miles of challenging and exciting Class III and IV rapids on one of the country’s premier rivers. Located in Eastern Tennessee within 2 to 3 hours of many major cities. Experience the adventure of whitewater rafting with Ocoee Rafting!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip down the river.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The rafting trip itself was GREAT. We had two twelve year old's with us and our guide, Squirrel, made the trip safe but incredibly fun. We laughed hysterically and were soaked - could not have asked for more. The rafting center is beautifully built and the bathrooms are clean and huge. Didn't give it 5 starts because your rafting bus doesn't leave until 30 min after your appointed time, the bus is HOT with your paddle jacket on and there is no food at the center so our kids were starving as we assumed we could buy snacks if not lunch (assuming was wrong but most tourist places have food). Also the CD of photos for $40 is completely overpriced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSummerville123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are thrilled you had a Fabulous time. We do allow 30 mins for check in, as we check in very large groups. The CD for $40.00 has 30-60 photos which is a very generous amount but I do understand that might be a splurge while on vacation. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    12
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We had such a great time. Tori made us feel safe and yet we had such a great adventure... next year we plan to go twice....

Helpful?
Thank jennpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are thrilled to here you will be returning, we greatly appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We had the best time! Our guide, Jeffrey, was awesome. He knew the river paths that challenged us the most. The company is first rate. We did the middle river. It's five miles of fun. Can't wait to come back and do the upper river!

Helpful?
Thank Lacfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for uplifting Jeffery, he has some amazing skills to show off on the river. We Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Carteret, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This trip was our third raft adventure for most in our group, however the first down the Ocoee. The river is almost nonstop whitewater action. I researched a lot about this trip because we had a handful of people who had never rated before and I wanted to make sure they wouldn't hate me afterward, I called Ocoee a couple of times prior to our trip to ask questions. One of the guides even spoke to me on the phone and answered all the answers I had.
The river was very exciting! We had two guides for our group, Havard and Hyde (last names) and they, like I'm sure the other guides as well, made the river as safe or adventurous as the guests in the raft wanted it to be....if that makes sense to you. We got soaked and we all had a blast!
The facilities were very nice, especially the restrooms. After you get off the river, you will want a hot shower and dry clothes. Here, you can do that and not feel like you are showering out in some backwoods trashy facility.
The raft guides were very friendly and helped make you feel comfortable. The only place in need of improvement was the woman at the check in desk. She came across quite unfriendly. Perhaps she should work somewhere that requires less public interaction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first time white water rafting and our guide Yak was the best. He safely guided our raft and provided interesting facts about each of the rapids, landmarks, and scenery. This company made us feel safe and provided a fantastic experience for my family and I.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to share your quality family time with us. We are pleased you had a fantastic trip. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocoee Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Ocoee Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing