We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, thanks Jake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocoee Rafting

Ocoee Rafting
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Ducktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocoee Rafting is the oldest outfitter and the prefered company on the Ocoee River, providing guided whitewater rafting adventures for 35 years. Since 1976 Ocoee Rafting has welcomed you to miles of challenging and exciting Class III and IV rapids on one of the country’s premier rivers. Located in Eastern Tennessee within 2 to 3 hours of many major cities. Experience the adventure of whitewater rafting with Ocoee Rafting!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
“Great experience, thanks Jake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Took the family white water rafting for their first time and it was great. Our guide, Jake, was awesome. He made sure everyone knew what they had to do to have a safe and memorable trip. He even mounted my GoPro on his helmet so the whole family could be in the video of this great trip. When given the option "Chickens or Heros", choose Heros!!! Being ejected from the raft in a good rapid was one of our best memories of the trip. Great place, great people and we'll be back to do the entire river trip on a weekend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hero's for sure :) We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip with us. Jake can be reserved for your next trip by booking ahead. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    12
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ride in Tennessee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had never been white water rafting before and this was a great first experience. Our guide, Squirrel, was fun and had a lot of knowledge. It is always a challenge to find things to amuse teens in this technology based world and Ocoee Rafting was able to do that! We will definitely do this again, hopefully with Squirrel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are glad you found us for all your adventure needs. We also have Zip-lining (Zipline Canopy Tours of Blueridge), Tubing (Toccoa tubing) and our new Aerial Adventure Park is now open in Blue Ridge. We hope to see you at one of them this summer. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate your review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Rafting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was my first time rafting, and I was not disappointed. The river itself is fun, but I think the guide really makes it. Our guide (Brett) was very knowledgeable, funny, and personable. He knew his stuff and navigated the river well -- stimulated us with the rapids, and kept us engaged during the quiet times.

You have a few options when deciding which course to go on: Upper River, Middle River, or Full River. I did the Full River, so my comments will be specific to that run. We arrived and checked in at 9am, and we left at about 2pm. A rough timeline of the day went something like this:
~ 1 hour for check-in, introduction, and bus ride to the launch site
~ 1.5 hours of Upper River rafting
~ 15 minute break (water and snack provided)
~ 1.5 hours of Middle River rafting
~ 1 hour for bus back to the cabin, return gear, change clothes, and purchase photos

Your guide will probably tailor your run to suit your physical capabilities (though keep in mind you're in a raft with 5 or 6 other people), but be prepared to work! This isn't a joyride. You're going to fall out of the boat. And you will be sore for the next couple of days. I wouldn't have changed a thing, and I'd do it all again in a heartbeat.

If you must bring a phone/camera/etc with you, make sure it's waterproof or in a waterproof pouch/case, and have it secured to your person. And if you wear glasses/sunglasses, have it secured around your neck with a strap.

Also be advised that there is no food of any kind available on site, save for the water and snack that are provided to rafters during the full river trip. Plan to have a good breakfast before arriving, and then a late lunch upon departure.

They recommend (and I would agree) reserving your spots at least a couple of days ahead of time. If you show up the day of without a reservation, there's no guarantee they'll be able to accommodate. Certain trips only run at certain times on certain days, so be sure to visit their website or call to verify your plans.

All in all I highly recommend the folks at Ocoee Rafting (especially our guide, Brett) for a great whitewater rafting experience. I also highly recommend a sister company of theirs, Zipline Canopy Tours in Blue Ridge, just a little ways down the road across the GA state line. You can check out my review on them as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for spending your day with us. I'm glad you had a great trip and would love to have you back for the Full River trip. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“P-Town Crew Rocked It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Loved it. Hated seeing my wife fall out of raft and get steam rolled by another raft. Adventure people will really love this.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Ouch, thrilled you still managed to have a great time despite the steam roll. Glad you had a great time, come back for the Full River Trip you will be glad you did. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Thanks to Jake!! Best Rafting Trip Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Brooke and I just experienced the best rafting trip ever! Thanks to our guide Jake and excellent skills conning our raft down the Ocoee River! He was very safety conscious and met our satisfaction to the max. We will be back soon to chance our skills on the upper portion of the river!

Brandon and Brooke

Helpful?
Thank double_b1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocoeerafting, Manager at Ocoee Rafting, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Glad you had a great time, please do come back for the Full River Trip you will be glad you did. Thank You for choosing Ocoee Rafting, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have you back for the 2017 Rafting Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocoee Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Ocoee Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing