We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want good country veggies and fried chicken”

Jenkins Country Style Buffet
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in East Ridge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Red Bank, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want good country veggies and fried chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

When I want my veggies,
(turnip greens, green beans, butter beans, corn, blackeyed peas, tomatoes, macaroni and cheese, dressing w/ cranberry sauce,)
Slaw and a salad bar.
Usually three meats, always chicken fried and baked. meatloaf, pork chops, and maybe pulled pork.
The drink of your choice is included, plus refills.
Top it off with three choices of different cobblers, or cakes which are included, with ice cream.
unbeatable in this area for veggies.
I eat there or at family table (also in east ridge) at least once a week.
and I know my where the good food is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesBlackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Change of owners in not good for Jenkins.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food all tasted the same. No taste. Only bright spot was fried okra. Before new owner food was good with plenty of taste now they must be cutting costs. Will not eat there again. Must not be the only one that feels that way because we were there at 6:40 on a Saturday night and at the most there were 20 people there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cadzila49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Home Cooked Food EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is by far..MY favorite Restaurant of all. I love the home cooked meals. And, the people there are nice too. You can eat all you want. And believe me, there's plenty to choose from. The best part about this place is...They have a drive through. So, when I don't feel like cooking or getting out anywhere...I just go through the drive through which stays open til 8p.m. And, it is cheaper to pick up instead of Dine in. I love the people there and the service. Best Food Around!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best Food Around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The food at Jenkins Buffet cannot be beat! They serve two or three types of chicken & two or more types of other entree at the same time. Generally, they have lemon pepper chicken, regular fried, & skinless baked chicken plus meat loaf, steak, whitefish, turkey casserole, stuffed green peppers, & all types of delicious meats. At the same time they have a salad bar & a dessert bar plus all different kinds of vegetables. Their green beans & mashed potatoes are terrific. It's a really good value to eat there & the number of their customers prove that they are a great buffet. Jenkins has been in business & in the same family for decades, so they've got their cooking down to a science, so to speak. It's not bad if they're crowded & you have to wait because Jenkins has plenty of waiting space inside. The waiting staff is great & some of them are relatives , so they're vested, so to speak. They are quick & efficient & work very hard to deliver your drinks & utensils & will generally give you
an additional drink like coffee to
Go with your dessert! Try them out for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyLouTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did I Miss Something”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Based entirely on the other reviews posted here, my wife and I decided to try this #1 rated restaurant in East Ridge tonight. The uncertainty began immediately when the receptionist/cashier greeted us with "Are there two of ya, that'll be $X, whacha want to drink? Your waitress will show ya to your table." It went downhill from there. The atmosphere was 1st Marine Division mess hall and the food was two grades below that. Chicken was dry and over battered, the ribs were tough and the potatoes were synthetic (or tasted like it) and whipped to the consistency of sheet rock compound. Will be in town for two more nights, but this place is safe from us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank W A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jenkins Country Style Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Jenkins Country Style Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing