We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”

Sycamore Shoals State Historic Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sycamore Shoals State Historic Park protects the land that was the location of several important historic events that occurred in the late 18th century. Leaving the English colonies, settlers began arriving along the Watauga Old Fields, in search of a new life on what was Cherokee land.The park offers quality educational programs throughout the year telling the stories of the Watauga Association, Transylvania Purchase, Cherokee War of 1776, the Overmountain Men and so much more! John Carter, one of the primary political, military and business leaders of this era, and his son Landon, built a home, the Carter Mansion, three miles from Sycamore Shoals. This structure is the oldest standing frame house in Tennessee, dating back to the mid to late 1770s.
Blountville, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I live less than 20 miles away and have for the last 35 years, sadley to say I never dreamed that so much history was at our finger tips. This protrays from the very start how and why we have become the greatest nation on earth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great park with great history”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We live in Elizabethton and everyone that visits here we like to take them here. It is an old fort that you can walk through for free and imagine what life would be like in the days of the pioneers. It also has the best running walking trails in all of the Tri-cities

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew-of-ten-sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge City, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Culture”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

These place was such a Great place so unique and awesome for the area! Between their museum and the forts this place had everything for a History Guru.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little piece of history in my backyard.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A play, the "Wataugans", is held yearly at the park and I have been to at least five of them. They change every year or so to incorporate something different. Tennessee history buffs would love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun spot, won't take all day”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

There is a small reconstructed fort, and a small museum inside. Nothing that will take hours or all day. The best part is probably the river walk. Very nice trail along the Watauga river paved with small gravel. Beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sycamore Shoals State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Sycamore Shoals State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing