We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some problems keep the rating down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter Inlet Beach Colony, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Some problems keep the rating down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I had really liked this place when we stayed two years ago, so returned hoping they had fixed some problems. They did; for example, the wifi now really works. Alas, we encountered new problems. We had a non-smoking room but others nearby allowed it and one or more apparently opened their doors because having a gas mask to negotiate the hallway would have been useful (and I am not usually very bothered by cigarette smoke). One of the bed lamps was completely broken. The room had neither a refrigerator nor a microwave. But let me also say what is good about this place. The woman who manages it is super helpful and nice. There is a hiker discount, which we Appalachian Trail buffs appreciated. And the breakfast is terrific: omelet or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, plus all the ubiquitous things such as cereals and sweet rolls.

Room Tip: Don't just ask for a non-smoking room, ask for one that is no where near any room that allows sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you experienced a better wifi connection during your stay, we have been working on that. Our property does still allow smoking in some of our rooms but they are restricted to our second floor. Unfortunately, some smoke smell can linger in public areas of the hotel because of our smokers. We make every attempt to eliminate the odors by keeping our public areas clean and refreshed. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    34
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
32
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hotel looks good, inside and out. Comfortable rooms, clean. Decent breakfast. Nothing much around but handy enough just off the Interstate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishman-in-theUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
539 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Even though my room was non-smoking, I could smell smoke residue in the bathroom. Clean and comfortable. Right off the highway, so the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear dnumme,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here to rest during a road trip. Excellent Service at the front desk, understanding and willing to work with me as I waited hours for the rest of my party to arrive. The lobby is small, but comfortable. Feels like a home living room. The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there. The view is phenominal both from inside the hotel and outside. If I'd been sight-seeing, I could have spent a weekend happily roaming the mountains and come back to the comfy lobby for some hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is an awesome place to stay if you are in the Tennessee area. We went down in October to see the leaves, and certainly enjoyed our stay here, exceptionally clean, great hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits/gravy, etc. And the price is right, also managed by Americans...don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just ok. If I was hiking the nearby Appalachian Trail, was exhausted, and in bad need of a bath; this place might be a welcome sight. Good enough but "just barely".

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranzo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at a local hostel the night before and did NOT like the accommodations there so we stayed at Holiday Inn Express the following night of our trip. This hotel is likely the best one around! Tim was very helpful in reserving a room and giving us a fair rate. It was very clean, comfortable, quiet and we loved the continental breakfast. The cinnamon rolls were excellent and I loved the pancake machine!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, at the end of the hallway near the stairs and didn't hear a peep fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyia8100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
17.5 mi away
Value Place Johnson City
Value Place Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 2002 Temple Hill Road, Erwin, TN 37650 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing