We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mildew and Mold Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Franklin
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mildew and Mold Smell”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked this hotel room for one night. When we arrived, we walked into our room and immediately it smelled of mildew and mold. I asked the front desk to move us to a different room. They had one room available. That room too had a strong odor of urine. Would not recommend this hotel. Not good for anyone with breathing or lung problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neveragain472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvifranklintn, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry you found an unpleasant odor in our hotel. While we satisfy hundreds of guests each month, we understand that not everyone will be satisfied. Still, we strive for the goal of 100 percent satisfaction. I sincerely apologize that you were not pleased with your stay. We hope you will reconsider and try us again in the future.


Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    16
    18
    16
See reviews for
23
23
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Oh My! I didn't have high expectations for this stay anyway, my rate was only $56 and I was hardly there in my three days. First thing I noticed was blood on my bathroom door. Yikes. The towels were a bit worn and the lady at the front desk didn't acknowledge me instead she was watching TV and then another gentleman pointed something out on the security camera. I could have cared less to see the TV or camera incident since I just misplaced my key and left my boyfriend waiting at the door. All in all i didn't expect much, the location was good for us, near a few restaurants. Just go into it knowing you're not booking a 5-star hotel and you'll be fine.

Oh, our housekeeper was super nice as well as the houseman.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvifranklintn, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry if any maintenance or housekeeping issues detracted from your stay. We believe we provide a good combination of value, comfort and amenities. I’m also very sorry that our desk clerk was less than attentive. This has been addressed. We strive for 100 percent customer satisfaction and obviously fell short in your case.


Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Front desk personnel and cleaning crew were very nice and helpful. Rooms are basic, but kept clean. Good value for the money. Not a bad place to stay a night or two. On down side, regular sheet not fitted one on mattress. Box springs on both beds frayed at edges, small rips in spots.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Reviewers who slag off this place don't seem to take into account that it is almost certainly the cheapest option in Franklin. The decor is somewhat dated and certainly not stylish and a few fittings are a little wobbly but the rooms were very clean, wifi worked OK and a basic breakfast was included (annoyingly using polystyrene plates, cups etc and butter from a squeezy bottle - so much waste - but that seems common to other places and even cheaper restaurants throughout the area so isn't a complaint specific to this motel). Rooms are large (two double beds) with good hot shower, basic toiletries provided, piles of towels - essentially all things necessary for a basic sleep and all for US$45.

For us the most positive aspect was Lucy - the very friendly manager who seemed to work 25 hours a day yet never failed to be courteous, helpful and friendly. She really deserves a pay rise!

In terms of location the motel is handy for the I65 motorway but a bad choice if you don't have a vehicle (as you might predict). The walk to downtown Franklin takes the best part of an hour and oddly the bridge across the motorway has no walkway whatever so cars pass dangerously closely. The pleasant 'country-style' chain restaurant/store called 'Crakerbarrel' is about the only eatery within walking distance from the motel that doesn't involve crossing that nasty bridge and Crackerbarrel doesn't serve any alcoholic drinks. The motel itself doesn't have a restaurant and the breakfast room is closed from 9an to 6am leaving only a vending machine which has a tendency to stick.

If you have a car, head to downtown Franklin, about three miles away, where there are some contrastingly delightful eateries. On a Thursday night you'd be well advised to book a table at Pukkets Country Store in Leipers Fork (8 miles west) where there's a truly fabulous open mic night for singer-songwriters arguably better than any of the better known places in Nashville (even the Bluebird).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzBelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this motel November 23-25, 2013 with a special and very economical rate. When I made my reservation, I requested a microwave and mini-fridge. Both were present at no additional cost in the room that I was given. With a smoking room, as requested, the smell was strong, but expected. The room was immaculately clean; the mattresses,sheets and towels seemed new; and they provided soap, shampoo and tissues. They room was made up after the first night. TV did not include HBO, but had all the channels that I would have wanted. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

All in all this was a wonderful experience, especially for the nightly special rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vineyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
husspatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear vineyridge,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and microfridges. We have also recently updated our rooms with new paint and removed wallpaper. All of our king rooms have 32 inch flat screen TV's. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.



Regards,

Huss-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Franklin, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am writing this review from the Ramada just a bit down the road. We booked a room via Expedia at an extended stay hotel but when we arrived we were told they were overbooked. After 25 minutes on the phone with an Expedia rebooking agent, they offered us a room at this hotel. We were told the only difference was that this hotel had only a microwave and a fridge (not the full kitchenette our original booking had promised). We were also told that this hotel was more expensive than our original booking, but that Expedia would cover the difference.

The room we were given was disgusting! The rate on the door was $60 a night, so if you're paying more, you're getting ripped off. The hallways, stairwell and the room reeked of years of cigarette smoke. The wallpaper was falling off the walls. The carpet looked as if it had stretched after being soaked. The furniture was stained. We didn't even bother to look at the sheets -- we were too afraid of what we might find. The pool wasn't filled to a customary level for swimming (it had approx. 2 ft of water in the 3 ft end.) There was a microwave sitting on top of a fridge. This was not in any way, shape or form comparable to the extended stay hotel we had booked.

It was so bad that we couldn't stay for even one night, let alone the 3 we had booked for.

The only good news is that we found a room ourselves at the Ramada and Expedia refunded our money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empress9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
husspatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Empress9999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us in September. Over the last few months, we addressed several issues, including the ones you brought to our attention. We hope that you will give our newly refreshed and freshly painted rooms another chance.

Regards,
Huss-General Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Franklin, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was very disappointed in the cleanliness of our room. Also, the bathroom left something to be desired. I cleaned the toilet as soon as we got our bags in and looked around. The sofa was filthy and torn on one arm. The continental breakfast offerings was so bad, we checked out and went to a close by restaurant to eat. While the price of the room was good, I would have preferred to pay a little more for a better kept hotel. This will be my initial stay at an America's Best Value Inn and my last one I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joyce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
husspatel, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Joyce,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointing that we fell short of your expectations. Over the last few months, we have addressed several issues, including the ones you brought to our attention. We hope you will give our newly refreshed and freshly painted guest rooms another chance.

Regards,
Huss-General Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Franklin, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franklin hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Nashville Franklin
0.4 mi away
Ramada Franklin/Cool Springs
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#20 of 23 in Franklin
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Franklin Inn
BEST WESTERN Franklin Inn
#9 of 23 in Franklin
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 23 in Franklin
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill
Address: 4201 Franklin Common Ct, Franklin, TN 37067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, conveniently located seventeen miles south of Nashville and two miles from downtown Franklin. Local universities include Columbia State Community College and Lipscomb University. Golf all day surrounded by rolling hills, tour a countryside of rich farmlands and lazy rivers, or visit Civil War sites like the Lotz House Museum and Battle of Franklin - Civil War Museum. Browse a wide variety of specialty shops at Cool Springs Galleria. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the nearby restaurants including Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Sonic Drive-In, and Steak 'n Shake. Our Franklin/Springhill, TN hotel features a number of amenities to ensure a comfortable stay, including free continental breakfast with coffee served daily. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our common areas and guest rooms. Rest in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including new 39 inch flat-screen TV's, hairdryer, clock radio, desk with lamp, iron and ironing boards upon request, grab bars in the bathroom. At Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Franklin/Spring Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing