We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, delicious New Mexican style food”
Review of Sopapillas

Sopapillas
Ranked #28 of 370 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin rd
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fun place, delicious New Mexican style food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We ate there when traveling for business last week. We had the guac, which is made table-side and features pomegranate seeds - unusual, and DELICIOUS. Margaritas were okay, seemed pretty small for the money - I think I may get beer next time. The food was all excellent...I had the Sopapilla Platter so I could taste several items, and they were all good. They seem to use real hatch green chilies from New Mexico, which is a nice touch.

We ate on the outside deck, and it was a little brisk. We asked a manager if he could light the outdoor heater, and initially he seemed reluctant since they were out of propane. However, he ended up sending an employee down the street to but some propane and got the heater up and running! That was a nice touch on what will hopefully be one of many visits to this place!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scootermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    60
    21
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
251 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good Mexican in Franklin”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We tried Sopapillas based on other reviews that we read here on TA and were glad that we tried it. The margaritas were delicious and reasonable. The place has a nice atmosphere to it with good music playing. This is not your typical Mexican restaurant, but rather a more upscale place that serves up modern Mexican cuisine. I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Seriously Authentic New Mexican Food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was skeptical when we walked in because the restaurant doesn't feel New Mexican. The decor is pretty average and wasn't distinctive. However, the food more than made up for it.
I had a chile relleno which was made with a Hatch green chile and was breaded and filled with cheese-aka the RIGHT way to make a chile relleno. My dining companion had the enchiladas: one cheese with red sauce, one chicken with sour cream jalapeno sauce, and one beef with Hatch green chile sauce. I will say that I am used to eating enchiladas with just cheese inside, but these were delicious. The red sauce had no tomato sauce in it which is all too common in "Mexican" restaurants and the green was tasty and just a little spicy.
I would have liked some spicier options, as the salsa they bring out is barely mild (though delicious) and is their "hottest" salsa, but overall, the food was a welcome surprise for someone who loves (and misses) real New Mexican food.
Oh, also? Get the sopaipillas for dessert. That is what a sopaipilla is *supposed* to look like: puffy dough with no sugar, no cinnamon, no whipped cream, no ice cream, just honey. Absolutely delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TangentialT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
365 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not Typical Mexican Food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The food is almost always great at Sopapilla's (both the Franklin and the Hendersonville locations), but it's not always consistent, even in terms of what ingredients they use. For example, sometimes the chicken burrito might have onions in it, sometimes not. Maybe it might have refried beans in it, maybe not this time. Still, the ingredient roulette notwithstanding, we have almost always enjoyed the good food and atmosphere. Don't miss the unsweetened iced tea, it's the best I have had anywhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OurTnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,783 reviews
1,237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
“Service ok but food is very good..”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It is all fresh made food and can be a while before it comes out. But everything from the chips and salsa were very good. We had ceviche which was excellent and tuna salad. Also had pork with mexican corn. All very very good. Service can be spotty and depends who you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sopapillas also viewed

 

Been to Sopapillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing