We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Germantown
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is very nice and clean! The rooms are nice, very nice area. The hotel staff is lacking in the customer service dept. We were not greeted upon check-in. We used the self check, to check in and out of the hotel. The morning staff was better than the evening , but they were both unattentive. The breakfast bar was ok. We also ordered from the menu and it was awful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

I had an excellent experience with my recent stay here while visiting Memphis area attractions. The staff were always friendly and the accommodations were a comfortable home away from home. The pool was clean and maintained with comfortable lounge chairs to relax in. There was no issue with getting extra towels and they went the extra mile to print us directions and maps to help us maneuver through the area without getting lost. They has a nice list of restaurants that was helpful when we arrived and were famished. The free continental breakfast offered a lot of variety including bagels, donuts, toast, fresh delicious fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, and all the accessory condiments. I really enjoyed eating off of real silverware, plates, bowls, glasses, and cups. Free wireless connections could be improved ended up having to connect to the Marriott Courtyard for reliable connection. I would stay again without any hesitation....Highly recommended accommodations!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregariously_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is in a clean nice part of town. We were happy with the location and felt very safe. The beds were very comfortable. On check-in, our room was an hour and a half late being cleaned. We had to wait on it ,along with several other guest. The air was not working properly in our room. They could not fix it nor did they even offer another room. There is no bathtub or even a stool in the shower. There was also ZERO water pressure in the shower. The staff seemed very stressed and unconcerned with our concerns. I am not sure if they were under staffed or just very inexperienced. We tried several times to reach the front desk by phone. We had to walk down there every time. They would not answer the phone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blstampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This was our first time staying at a Hyatt. This hotel is really nice. I love the decor and the desk staff were very friendly. Especially the night auditor, David. The room is a decent size, very clean with 42in HD TV. The area felt extremely safe. The ONLY disappointing thing to me was the breakfast. I did expect hot items on the breakfast buffet. However; they did offer toasts, juice, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. And it seems as if there should have been more than one desk clerk on duty because it appeared to be very busy this weekend. The clerks had to help with breakfast, make the Starbucks coffee, answer the phones, attend to the guests, make food that was ordered etc. At checkout we felt a little rushed because the clerk was busy with phones and after she finished the called she took our key and said she needed to prepare a young lady's meal that had been waiting for quite sometime. But overall, very nice place to stay...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Place-Germantown Memorial Day weekend. Initial impression was very nice lobby and greeting. However, the nicety turned quickly to despair when, after being asked to use the automated check-in, we were given a room that was already occupied by someone. Imagine our surprise - and his - when we opened the door and found someone watching TV in "our" room.

So, we get another room..and nice...clean...but as someone said earlier, the layout was not very well designed. The swivel flat screen TV was 'designed' to serve the sitting room and the bedroom. But it was difficult to see in the bedroom, without laying sideways. The bathroom had numerous issues..1) You can't get into it without sliding in between the toilet and the door and closing the door behind you. The shower was also poorly planned. The shower glass door only enclosed 1/2 the shower stall, and had a smaller pivoting glass door, right in the middle ...not closing in the enclosure all the way.
Water all over the floor after each shower.

Inconsiderate neighbors kept the door to the laundy room open all night while they did wash after midnight. The noise from the dryer and the people sitting outside the room yapping away all night was bothersome as well..though not the fault of the Hyatt.

Good points- staff was friendly, helpful and concerned about our issues. The breakfast was nice..nothing huge, but nice. The 24-hour snack bar and Starbucks coffee bar was also nice. We felt very safe in this area, and although we were visiting Memphis, it was easily accessible from the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caricell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The greeting was fairly loud Rock music, not expected or desired after a long trip. The clerkS on duty seemed oblivious to the customers and creating a warm, calm and welcome. I had requested a roomi on an upper floor and initially was given one on the first floor which, of course, I had to bring to their attention.
The particular room had a king bed and pullout sofa with a partial wall separating the two. The room design was atrocious. There was just 1 foot of space at most between the air conditioner and the bed, almost guaranteeing the user with a sore throat if turned on all night. The bathroom design was a nightmare. The door could not close unless you stepped between the side of the commode and up against the vanity sink area. It was also difficult to enter and exit the shower (no bathtub) due to the poor design.
Overall, one expects so much more in customer service, atmosphere and room design from a Hyatt. My wife and I really were disappointed in this Hyatt and it diminished Hyatt's reputation in our minds.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_M04537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate0868, Manager at Hyatt Place Germantown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

We do appreciate all feedback and per my previous communication with you, we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Hyatt Place Germantown has streamed in music that is the same at all Hyatt hotels across the world. There are some songs that are more upbeat than others but the list changes quarterly and is currently an eclectic summer stream of Colbie Caillat to John Mayer to Keane. The music will change again for Fall. Per the previous communication, we would welcome you to try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We arrived in Memphis during the floods and so were relieved that we followed TripAdvisor advice and booked here. Other side of town from the Mississippi, great hotel, easy check-in. It is a little out of the way but very safe. Enjoyed the inclusive breakfast, perfect for our family. Friendly staff, free Wi-fi and fridge in room. And although it was obviously heated there was no way we were trying the pool no matter how lovely it looked! Very impressed and will look for a Hyatt Place again. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Definately fantastic to have the lounge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_possie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Germantown hotels
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Germantown
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis Germantown
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis Germantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Germantown
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Germantown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Memphis Germantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Germantown

Address: 9161 Winchester Rd, Germantown, TN 38138-8509
Region: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Germantown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Germantown
#3 Family Hotel in Germantown
Price Range: £88 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Germantown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Germantown Hotel Germantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing