We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Germantown
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Germantown
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We traveled from Oklahoma to Georgia with two dogs and needed an overnight at pet friendly hotel, being a Marriott fan, this seemed like a win/win. We were exhausted and it was late when we arrived. Our room rate was $139, high, but hey, they were pet friendly so I figured it was the price to pay for traveling with dogs. Upon check-in I was rudely informed that in addition to the high room rate, we had to cough up an additional $100 just to have a pet in the room. Didn't I just pay to have pet in the room by staying at a pet friendly hotel and paying more than across the parking lot? The staff were less than helpful at both check in and check out. The shower/tub drained so slow I had to pause mid shower to drain. Nice enough area, not as near a main hwy as I would have liked for ease of travel. Would not recommend.

Green Features: Supposedly pet friendly...more like they bilk you for money.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilsisdee2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I appreciate letting us know about your recent experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. I apologize for the issues you encountered and all have been addressed. It is always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable stay. I appreciate you being a loyal Marriott Rewards member. We hope to see you again in the near future to let you see issues that were encountered are not indicative of the property.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    36
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
22
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My b/f is a Platinum Elite member and travels 90% of the year. Almost ALL of his and our pleasure stays are with Marriott properties. We have remained loyal to the Marriott brand...until today. This weekend was a pleasure stay for me to meet his family. The large suite we booked into was not the Marriott quality that we are accustomed to. The pull-out sofa (for my girls to sleep on) had old, stained sheets still on the mattress. When we removed the sheets, there was a large urine stain on the mattress. The girls opted to fold it back up and sleep on the couch instead. The bathroom door wouldn't shut properly. The toilet took some jiggling of the handle to flush properly. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The biscuits were hard and the gravy was cold. My b/f and the kids enjoyed the meat and eggs though. The staff was polite and cordial. The outside property appearance was nice. Pool was clean. Nearby train was not bothersome at all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Monique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Monique, I appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. I apologize for not meeting your needs, it is always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable stay. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. I hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bybee, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel was modern and clean, but walls are thin. Went to sleep with people next door arguing, and woke up to people next door arguing.

A train runs VERY close to the hotel, and I was awakened several times as the train went by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Beth, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. It is always our for every guest to have a pleasurable experience. I apologize for the train, which is not typically an issue. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just had an overnight stay. Staff friendly. First time to stay in a Residence Inn, so unfamiliar with set up. First time to travel with my 90 year old uncle. I didn't think to request a room on first floor or near the elevator, so we ended up on second floor quite a distance from the elevator. He managed to walk the distance. Had a lot of luggage on the rack, and it was a tight squeeze in the elevator. Seemed to be only one. The room was good with two bedrooms so that we both had privacy, but I was close enough in case he needed something. I know I talked about a handicapped room for him, but not sure I got one. The tubs in the room did have grab bars. Didn't use the small kitchen area, but it seemed to have everything someone would need. It seemed like we were in an out of the way place, but I did find a shopping center with a few food choices nearby -- McAlester's Deli, New York Pizza, Dunkin Donuts. I asked the front desk clerk, and he mentioned lots of things, but just frazzled from a long drive, so probably didn't pay attention. There are train tracks across the street from the hotel, but we were on the backside of the hotel, so never heard a train. I did hear a truck hauling a single car carrier loaded park near the room during the night, however. If you are traveling with something like that, ample parking. Several resident type hotels in this area. One note is that the hotel taxes are a little higher than what I expected. I didn't ask, and the cost was not part of the rate given over the phone. I was told I was getting a good rate at the desk, and probably so. Cannot complain as it was comparable to two rooms in a regular hotel, and those would not guarantee adjoining room reservations. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germanown. It was always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable experience. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everyone here was so nice and helpful!!! The only thing that I had an issue with was the breakfast. I'm a southerner. I want a southern breakfast . I don't want Canadian bacon. I want bacon. But, the staff was awesome!!! The rooms were great!!!! Clean and so convenient to the show. We will be back in the fall. Have already made our reservations. Just will bring our own breakfast stuff.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly environment. Staff always ready to help. We can't wait to go Germantown again.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donalee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown during the Horseshow. It is always our intent for every guest to have a peasurable experience. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Richie Gentry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently spent 9 days here while coming from out of town for our son's wedding. The staff was super friendly, especially Will at the front desk. The managers were very accomodating and helpful in coordinating rooms for our multiple family members coming for the wedding and got us rooms as near as possible to each other.

The breakfast was good and plentiful. Even though it was sold out with sports teams a lot while we were there, we only had one morning when it wasn't stocked sufficiently but the staff was running around and by the time we were done our breakfast, I noticed a fresh supply of everything so I think we just hit at a low spot and they were working hard to remedy it.

The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful as well. They even sang to the breakfast room before starting their work one morning (maybe they did every morning, but I was only down there at that time one morning).

The location was excellent. Close by..within walking distance...was a nice coffee shop, Fresh Market, Target, Marshalls, Walgreens, etc as well as more shopping and restaurants within an easy drive.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAAM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about recent memorable experience at the newly renovated Residence Inn Memphis Germantown. It is always our intent for every guest to have pleasurable experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The best service and great rooms!!!!! rooms were nice and clean. very close to a lot of things for my family and i to get to. STAY HERE YOU WILL LOVE IT.......I Will be back!! Thanks residence Inn for a great stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chelseyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie G, General Manager at Residence Inn Memphis Germantown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We appreciate you letting us know about your recent memorable experience at the Residence Inn memphis Germantown. It is always our intent for every guest to have a pleasurable stay. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and thank you for being a loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Germantown hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Germantown
Hyatt Place Germantown
#1 of 9 in Germantown
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Germantown
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Germantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis Germantown
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Germantown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis Germantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Germantown

Property: Residence Inn Memphis Germantown
Address: 9314 Poplar Pike, Germantown, TN 38138-8311
Region: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Germantown
#5 Business Hotel in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Germantown 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Germantown Hotel Germantown
Residence Inn Germantown
Germantown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing