We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Great food, Wonderful Hosts, Terrific Nature Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordonsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Gordonsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were married at Butterfly Hollow years ago when Sharon & David were getting started. We decided to return a few days ago. Butterfly Hollow is so beautiful! The Flowers and plants are amazing and they've made a wonderful nature trail, They are wonderful hosts and couldn't be more gracious. Sharon is a gourmet cook and her breakfasts were delicious. David is a great guy to talk to and he serenaded us with country tunes that he had written himself! Both of them have real talent. I can't imagine a better place to become closer as a couple or to renew your vows. We will be back! Also, if you enjoy bird watching, I counted 20 different species of birds while sitting on their porch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review and for the personal comments about your hosts. We feel privileged to have been a part of your wedding some 5+ years ago but even more honored that you have returned for an anniversary. Since your visit we have begun documenting all the birds that we have identified in our 85 acre retreat and have 52 so far. Thank you for reminding us how amazing these feathered friends are.

D & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were married May 5, 2013 at Butterfly Hollow and it was a wonderful day. The setting and atmosphere was beautiful. David and Sharon are two of the most sweetest people you could ever meet. The birds and pretty outdoor setting makes you feel one with nature. I highly recommend getting married at Butterfly Hollow it is a great way to start your new life together as husband and wife. We are forever grateful to Sharon and David for making our day so special. We will returning and telling friends and family about this wonderful place.
From Krystal and Keith

Room Tip: Sharon and David are wonderful host.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrystalH378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you Krystal and Keith. We loved your easy going nature and feel honored to be a part of your beautiful wedding. We look forward to sharing some time with you again soon.

D & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My fiance and I chose to elope to Butterfly Hollow. It was a wonderful experience and the hollow is a paradise! The house is incredibly clean, smells WONDERFUL, and David and Sharon are an amazing couple! They did a wonderful job planning all the details of our special day and we hope to return soon to spend more time there! The food was fabulous and the surroundings are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We especially love how you made note of the "smells". The combination of the earthy-wood scents from all the Tulip Poplar inside, along with fresh flowers in every room, the occasional waft of Sage and Lavender from our home grown incense and the lingering essence of breakfast ..... ahhh the perfect blend.

D & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were married in April 2013, and being my first wedding, I was very nervous. We live in Michigan, so we had to go over our wedding details by e-mail and phone calls. The hosts, Sharon and David, answered all of my questions. They even answered questions I never thought to ask! Upon our arrival, the property was a picture right out of a magazine. A butterfly followed us up the road leading to the house. The smells and sounds took us over. The living quarters were clean, private, and five star. My family and friends that joined us were at a loss for words.

Butterfly Hollow will forever be in our hearts. If you have stumbled upon this place, you are one of the lucky ones.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N Jennife... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

We loved seeing your smiles as you arrived in the hollow. I hope the butterfly that led you in, followed you home too. Thank you for all the wonderful conversations and YES... please do find your way back to the hollow one day soon.

D&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I were married at Butterfly Hollow in March 2013. Although our wedding took place in the middle of a thunderstorm, David and Sharon made our day absolutely perfect! Saying our vows inside of their home with family and friends was cozy and very romantic. We have made the promise to each other to stay at the hollow every year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

It usually never rains on a wedding day..... but on this spring day, how special it truly was. The restored 1899 farmhouse was filled candles glowing in mason jars hanging from the rafters, flowers in every corner and a flicker in the fireplace to warm the day. What made it so special though was the love radiating between this awesome couple, the music he played for her on his guitar and the looks of love and admiration that was shared between all their guests. The perfect ending though was when the clouds cleared and we still were able to slip out into the gardens for a few wedding day pictures.

With Love-
D&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I were married at Butterfly Hollow this past November and we could not be any happier. David and Sharon did an amazing job making our special day perfect! They took care of all the details and left us stress free. We had a few friends attend our ceremony and they raved about how beautiful everything turned out. Their property is absolutely gorgeous and so relaxing. We enjoyed this place so much that we plan on going back for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYT_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for the kind and loving words. Weddings SHOULD be stress free and filled with what maters the most. We feel so privileged to have been a part of such a wonderful day.
Happy Beginnings!

D&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

When my husband and I got engaged last year, we like most couples first began looking for a venue to hold the ceremony and reception. I discovered Butterfly Hollow through searching through Google for "garden weddings". It kept popping up, and nothing else came close to comparison, so we knew that we needed to visit the Hollow for ourselves. When we had tea and cookies with Sharon and David, and took a little stroll around, we knew that this would be the place. It was so peaceful and full of natural life, it was magical. It was more than magical, we were actually arguing on the way there, and once we got there it was like a wave of peace came over us and calmed whatever it was that was causing us stress.

We set our date in June, and once the time came around, Sharon and David took care of everything: the pictures, cake, ceremony, flowers, and a whole lot more. My maid of honor and I stayed the night before and awoke to an amazing breakfast and beautiful scene for the wedding. It was such a beautiful stress free day, and they made it absolutely amazing and a day that one's wedding should feel like, special and beautiful.

I highly recommending visiting Butterfly Hollow for your intimate wedding or just to stay the weekend, either way you will come back rested and spiritually refreshed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyHollow, Owner at Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your wedding in Butterfly Hollow. You both radiated and we feel so honored to be a part of such a wonderful day in your lives. Love, D & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
17.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lebanon
Comfort Suites Lebanon
#2 of 13 in Lebanon
320 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Ramada Lebanon
Ramada Lebanon
#9 of 13 in Lebanon
283 reviews
16.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Lebanon
257 reviews
17.1 mi away
La Quinta Inns & Suites Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Hollow - A Hidden Retreat

Address: 28 Bussell Ln, Gordonsville, TN 38563-4511
Region: United States > Tennessee > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonsville
Price Range: £166 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butterfly Hollow is nestled at the end of a private road in a storybook setting, on 85 secluded acres, just a short scenic 45 minute drive east of Nashville in a quaint riverside town. These Cumberland plateau foothills are where those from Nashville and other nearby cities come to play. The close proximity to mountain streams filled with rainbow trout, hiking and biking trails and two beautiful, scenic lakes, less than ten minutes away, makes Butterfly Hollow a perfect getaway for families, couples, recording artists, songwriters and the discerning traveler looking for a little peace and solitude during their visit to Tennessee. It's the perfect hideaway for Romantic Getaways, A Weekend with Friends, an Escape for the Whole Family, a Private Artist / Writer's Retreat, Special Events, and Intimate Weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing