We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An airport hotel with a difference !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“An airport hotel with a difference !”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This amazing "green" hotel is a must to experience but do ask for the staff to show you all the fantastic areas where they really do achieve the "green" label. They do excellent buffet breakfast and from 0430 so early travellers do not have to miss out. Great conferencing facilities and their living wall is wonderful. They have very 'eco' swimming pool but enjoy as very different. Have to be commended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear OceanAirTravel,
Thank you for the commendation! Hotel Verde is our pride and joy. Please welcome all to do our green tour, we love to share with all. If you are attending a conference or staying with us, we will gladly show you around.
Our eco-pool is one of a kind, it looks like a natural pool and feels like it too.
We hope you and your colleagues join us at Africa’s Greenest Hotel very soon again.
Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    217
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
133
357
69
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

As the greenest hotel in Africa, Hotel Verde is setting a benchmark in this kind of accommodation, proving that less can be more and it is the kind of more that once you have experienced it, spoils you for other more conventional accommodation….. from the moment you set foot in the foyer you can sense a difference from the fun décor with its clean lines and relaxed homely atmosphere to the smiling, friendly staff all of which put you at ease after disembarking from a flight at the nearby airport.

In so many subtle ways the hotel coaxes you into thinking green, so that by the time you leave you feel you have effortlessly contributed to cutting your carbon footprint…. instilling little tips you take with you once you leave. This is a hotel of the future and one that we enjoyed experiencing from the quirky wind turbines to the fynbos-lined running track which wends it way through a wetland to the natural swimming pool and indoor gym where your efforts are converted into power which feeds into the hotel’s energy system. Little touches like a chatter-table with high stools and plugs where you can connect to the internet while enjoying a meal and the healthy breakfasts along with a blackboard which charts the carbon footprint of the food used in the dining area, and sensors that switch on the LED lights when you walk up the stairs and the colourful environmentally themed artworks created by learners from local schools…..all add up to the total experience of this unusual hotel.
Sandra Herrington

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally good.....although within 400 meters of an airport, couldn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraHerrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you, Sandra. I do not think we could have said it better ourselves.
It is the small touches and attention to details that make Hotel Verde the special place with a homely feel. We encourage greening first and foremost, but our guests get to experience so much more at our very unique property.
There is so much to mention... we simply recommend everyone has to see for themselves and discover their personal favourite unique attraction.
Thank you for taking the time to write a heartfelt and heart-warming review on Tripadvisor about Africa's Greenest Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for its location, we just wanted a place to crash After a day traveling. What a little gem. The place was spotless, the beds were the most comfortable I've slept in, in years! very quirky hotel, with its own review wall in the foyer. It's very "green" and the pool is outside.The restaurant has lots of options and great value for money. Breakfast was included and had everything from a continental breakfast, to a cooked one, with its own egg station. The shower is actually in the the room though, and when I say that I mean, in the actually room... Not in a separate anointing room. The provided a free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel, and then from the hotel to the v&a waterfront. Defiantly out shines the hotel I'm currently staying in at the waterfront

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sme87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear sme87,
Many guests are pleasantly surprised to find Hotel Verde – in all its quirkiness, “greenery” and modern décor located by the airport.
That’s right, the shower is actually in the room! But not too worry, if you not travelling with someone you are yet that close to… please request a “Closed standard” room.
Thank you for choosing Hotel Verde. Since you enjoyed it so much, please come back to us again. Our beds are missing you.
Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We really appreciated everything of our staying at Verde Hotel: the staff is great, they are very kind and helpful; rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable; dinner at the restaurant was really good; the shuttle service to the airport is excellent (we called and in few minutes they pick us up at the car rental return ). And in addition everything is ecofriendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Simona,
So great to hear that we could make your travel experience that little bit sweeter with friendly faces and good food.
It is so handy to be able to return one’s car with such ease.
Please be sure to choose Hotel Verde in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

VENUE: What a wonderful venue! Very conveniently situated at the airport. This is one of the first totally 'green' hotels.

FOOD: Delicious, baked on site. They also have their own vertical gardens, which not only looks beautiful but also great to have fresh produce on hand.

PARKING: Seems to be ample underground parking.

RECOMMENDABLE: Yes!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Regine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Regine L,

We kept the business traveller, like you in mind when we designed Hotel Verde. We are glad that you think we have hit the mark and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Hotel Verde becoming a second home to you and your colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel after a late night arrival from Amsterdam. Everything about the hotel and its service was excellent - from the airport shuttle pick up to the room, breakfast and departure the next morning. The staff are super friendly and efficient and the hotel is Green - aiming at sustainability through responsibility and a commitment to locally sourced produce and staff. Clean, comfortable, convenient, eco-friendly chic at its very best. And apart from home, there was no better place to spend a first night back in Cape Town after a wonderful holiday in Europe. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Johan,
I can personally agree with your feedback taking that long day late flight myself only last week. It is great to know that after arriving late, you will be taken care of and in a comfortable bed shortly.
We know that more Cape Townians from the outlying areas discover the convenience and peace of mind in staying close to the airport before and after flights. To that, we introduced the “don’t miss your flight” special offering a reduced rate to flight ticket holders.
Thank you for the recommendations and will hope to be of service to you again soon.
Green Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

After finishing a safari trip in Kruger we arrived at CPT and stayed at this hotel. It was extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated and a great deal!! I would highly recommend if you need to stay next to the airport. Also, the breakfast was not included in our rate but is absolutely excellent- well worth it!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for you loving review and recommendation of Hotel Verde - Africa's Greenest Hotel. Most of our quoted rates do include a deliscious buffet breakfast. SInce yours did not, I am so glad you elected to have it and enjoy the full Hotel Verde "Start the day on a great note" experience.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matroosfontein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Property: Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Address: 15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Matroosfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Verde is perfect not only for those seeking Cape Town airport accommodation, but anyone visiting Cape Town with responsible travel in mind. Our hotel has been carefully designed to offer luxury four-star accommodation with minimal environmental impact, providing you with a unique, eco-friendly experience that is 100% carbon neutral. Each one of our spacious 145 rooms have been equipped and designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. Various room types are available; a choice of standard, studio, executive and suite to suit our traveller's needs. Double glazed windows ensure a restful and quiet stay. Circling our natural wetlands, we have a jogging trail of 320 metres for those who prefer to exercise in the open air. Our wetland is flourishing with interesting plants and birdlife, making for a richer experience. Take advantage of South Africa’s moderate climate and do your workout outside, using our outdoor gym equipment. Upon your visit make use of our complimentary shuttle between the hotel and Cape Town International Airport, as well as a shuttle service between the hotel and the V&A Waterfront in central Cape Town. We also offer a bar, a full restaurant, 24 hour room service and deli as well as eight state-of-the-art conferencing and events venues ideal for productive meetings, workshops, launches and special events. Breakfast is conveniently served from 4h30 am-10h30 am. Spend your time wisely between travels by using our freshening up facilities, including showers, our gym and complimentary Wi-Fi, and have a meal in our restaurant before heading off to board your flight fresh and relaxed. We offer a state-of-the-art gym that’s open 24 hours a day. Hotel Verde is the first hotel in Africa to showcase power-generating gym equipment. Relax and enjoy a refreshing dip in our eco-pool, or sunbathe on our wooden deck where sun loungers overlook the surrounding wetlands. Another first for Hotel Verde, the eco-pool is completely harmless to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing