We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed in for a while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hurricane Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed one night after traveling from Chattanooga to Loretta Lynn's Ranch. Newly remodeled. Rooms were beautiful, clean, bed was comfortable. Outdoor Pool was very clean. Continental breakfast was the best I have ever had. The selection was great-they had awesome biscuits and gravy, bacon, eggs. Variety of other items-fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, muffins and pastries. Staff was very friendly. Will definitely stay here again. Wish we would have booked more nights at this hotel. Loretta Lynn's Kitchen restaurant was right by the hotel in walking distance from the hotel. Great meal. Good southern home cooking. Lunch and dinner buffet. After reading the reviews for this hotel and the others in the area-we picked this one, and we were glad we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

The room was fine. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was fine. (Although I can't figure out why hotels are using such heavy comforters. It's hard to find a temperature balance to sleep comfortably.)

We stayed here on our way to Gatlinburg. There was construction going on - bothersome but workable. I would say this place is about 3.5 in ratings. I went with the lower rating because of the pricing and the fact that most areas were closed. The drive up to the front doors was blocked off. Elevators weren't working. The pool and lobby were closed. They were adding on a place to workout but that wasn't open yet.

For the price, this was not the best value for my money. This hotel still has smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trident88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Trident88,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here 2 nights with my aunt and mom. They are under major construction - only to the common areas, not to the rooms. There is no elelvator access, which was a really big deal for us. My aunt is diabetic and has trouble with stairs. They couldn't navigate the stairs and carry their bags, so I made 3 trips upstairs to carry our bags - not a treat. The place is covered with dust. My room was very musty smelling, the other room didn't smell. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was decent, but I didn't like dodging hanging wires, tile boxes, etc w/ while having breakfast. I would not stay here again with the hotel in this condition and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly), responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear KVM0716,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay because of the ongoing renovations. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property, which does include the rooms on property.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This HIX is currently undergoing renovation -- lobby, breakfast area, elevator, fitness room, pool -- with the end finally in sight. In spite of that, I believe they are doing everything possible to minimize the turmoil for guests. Parking was not compromised; the hotel was very quiet at night; front desk reps were friendly; signage was decent.

The room itself was upgraded to current HIX standards, clean, with flat-screen (good number of channels), fridge, microwave, work desk (several outlets for recharging), no-frills yet pleasant furniture and bedding. Water temp and pressure were excellent; granite vanity and rain-shower head in the bath. Exhaust vent was noisy. Views from the rooms include an abrupt hill or the parking lot.

Pool, when complete, will be small but adequate. The lobby/breakfast area will be lovely when painting is finished and the new furniture is unboxed. For the next few days, until the elevator is up and running, you will need to climb the stairs for second-floor rooms.

One negative of our stay: We were told at check-in that breakfast ended at 10:00 am. Arriving at 9:27, we saw the food being taken away and the breakfast rep said the ending time was actually 9:30. She did set plates, utensils, etc. back out for us, and, on the plus side, there was still adequate hot and cold food available.

For travelers just overnighting, this exit has a Pilot gas station (good for semi's and RV's), a Subway, Arby's, bbq place, and the Log Cabin and Loretta Lynn's Kitchen restaurants. There are a couple other hotels, but the HIX would be my only choice. (Note that its entrance is a tad unclear; it shares the uphill road with LL's Kitchen.) LL's Ranch is a few minutes north. On alternating Saturday evenings in summer, Concerts on Main are held in Lobleville, about 10 minutes south.

Room Tip: Rooms facing hill are quieter in a.m. than facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goseedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here on the night of May 31, 2013 while visiting Loretta Lynn's Ranch. Although the
facility was undergoing major remodeling, the accommodations were fine. The king bed room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was fine and clean. The staff at the front desk was
very, very friendly and most willing to make our stay comfortable in spite of the remodeling. We
found them to be polite and courteous as well as efficient. The breakfast offered a good selection of food-- the choices were plentiful. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting
Loretta Lynn's ranch and there are a few restaurants nearby like Loretta Lynn's Kitchen which
was a decent place to eat with a nice gift shop.

Room Tip: We were offered a first floor room if we didn't want to take our luggage up the stairs. Elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonijmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel has recently undergone major remodeling. The room was new and the carpets had been shampooed that day, It was roomy with two queen beds, desk area, chair with ottoman, fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. The bed was very comfy and the linens were soft. There were 4 pillows on each bed. The parking lot connects with Loretta Lynn's kitchen a stone's throw away. It is right off of interstate 40 with gas stations aplenty. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here one night while we were visiting Loretta Lynn's Ranch. There really are not a lot of hotels or motels to choose from in this area, so this hotel was by far the best in my opinion considering what there was to choose from and I am somewhat picky when it comes to staying at hotels. My only complaint was the construction going on, I guess they are renovating and/or adding on to the hotel. The room was pretty clean, but the bed I think has seen better days. It sagged in certain areas, but I have noticed at other Holiday Inns that this has happened before. I think it is the quality of beds they use. Offers breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140Teresa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly), responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear 140Teresa69,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. While we are very happy that you chose us, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I am truly sorry for the troubles the ongoing renovation has brought you. To cater to our guests' needs, we are currently adding a fitness center and an elevator as well as working on our lobby and our pool. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, thus, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane Mills
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Hurricane Mills
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hurricane Mills
Days Inn Hurricane Mills
#4 of 6 in Hurricane Mills
178 reviews
21.7 mi away
Best Western Home Place Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Commodore Hotel Linden
13.8 mi away
Imperial Lodge
Imperial Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waverly
25 reviews
16.3 mi away
Days Inn Holladay
Days Inn Holladay
#1 of 1 in Holladay
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly)

Address: 15368 Highway 13 S, I-40 Exit 143, Hurricane Mills, TN 37078-2319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Hurricane Mills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hurricane Mills
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills, TN is located off I-40 at exit 143 and just 7 miles south of Loretta Lynn s Dude Ranch. We are conveniently located 60 miles west of Nashville and 143 miles east of Historic Memphis. Guests of the Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills, TN enjoy a Smart experience with the Simply Smart Bedding, Simply Smart Bath, and Express Start Breakfast. Bedspreads are a thing of the past. Replaced with duvets and triple sheeting that makes you not want to get out of bed. If you can drag yourself out of bed, try our Simply Smart bath experience with 25% more room and our exclusive Kohler shower head. Don t forget our Simply Smart amenities, they work as great as they smell. Speaking of smelling good, come down to our Lobby and get our Express Start Breakfast. Please try our Cinnamon Rolls and Smart Roast coffee, developed especially for Holiday Inn Express. Want something hot? We now also serve eggs, biscuits, and breakfast meats. The Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills, TN offers 50 rooms on two floors and Wireless High Speed Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Mills (Waverly) Hotel Hurricane Mills
Holiday Inn Hurricane Mills
Hurricane Mills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing