We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Check-In Staff..... Extremely SMELLY 2nd floor!”
Review of Courtyard Jackson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Jackson
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was amazed at how friendly the staff was upon check-in. They were helpful in all aspects. Although there was a key issue, I was understanding and it was resolved before my 3 day stay was over. It could have been difficult had my husband not left early because of a family emergency (one key for 2 people going separate directions could have been a scheduling nightmare). BUT, that was all well and good.

My room... The carpets desperately needed cleaning. There were stains in several places. There was also some type of stain on the iHome clock radio... so much so that I didn't want to touch it, though it was a dry stain. The bathroom was very clean and in great order - very spacious! The couch looked very loved but clean.

I don't understand putting the fridge and coffee maker into a closed cabinet. One would think that this will make the fridge overheat and cease working sooner than later. Also, one has to open both bottom doors to get into the fridge which is awfully cumbersome when you have an arm full of items. Also, the doors should, one would think, remain open while making coffee and that would have made getting around that big cabinet awkward. Overall, not a great design concept, but the roll-out table = genius!!!

The only real complaint was the smell of the second floor hallway. (My room smelled of deodorizer fairly strongly, but not annoyingly so.) The hallway smelled like a combination of old dirty soured cloth diapers and collard greens cooking. It seemed to be all over the entire hallway and could have been coming from the janitor's closet. It COULD be really dirty mop water or a souring mop, but to make a smell that bad you would need to have about 10 dirty/moldy mops and a big bucket of mop water that had been sitting around for weeks/months. The smell was very obnoxious. I did mention it to the staff upon leaving just so that they were aware of the problem. I also asked one of the House Cleaning Staff if she knew what the smell was, and she seemed to think it may be mold growing in the walls. This made me really scared to stay here in the future. I probably would if the case arose, though, but I would want to try a different floor. I don't travel to Jackson, TN very often.

As is par for the course for me, my last night had junior high boys all running up and down the hallways, yelling to one another, talking loudly and slamming doors. I mentioned my family emergency above, luckily I was up late enough to put up with it until they went to bed (baseball players). Had I been trying to go to sleep, I would have been quite annoyed. I don't know how to address this other than calling the front desk, but maybe letting the coaches/families know when they check in that loud, obnoxious behavior inside the hotel will not be tolerated and that there are other Business Guests who will not appreciate loud guests in the evenings. Parents should also realize that the entire hotel is not full of baseball players and that there are professional people staying there who NEED sleep even on the weekends.

Thanks, Janne Zaccagnino

Room Tip: Not being near the elevators is usually a good choice as far as noise is concerned, but next door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardtn, General Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Ms. Zaccagnino,

I truly appreciate all the comments and suggestions! Everything we do is aimed at providing an excellent experience for each of our guest and I do apologize that we did not provide this to you during your stay with us.

Thank you for the positive comments regarding our Front Desk staff. I am glad that you enjoyed the rollout desk and please know that your comments regarding the fridge and coffee maker will be forward to Marriott to review regarding current brand standard.

I also apologize for the odor you experienced. We are, and have been, working with JEA (Jackson Energy Authority) to determine why we get this smell. Our housekeeper you spoke with had not been briefed on this situation and her comment regarding mold was untrue and inappropriate. Please be assured this smell is not a result of mold, of which we do not have.

We do, on occasion, have guests in our hotel which have a difficult time honoring our quite hours. I apologize that you were disturbed by other guests. We do require teams to sign a Hotel Respect Policy upon check-in in an attempt to ensure our other guests are not disturbed. When we are made aware of noise please be assured we do address the situation.

We will be reaching out to you so that we may discuss your stay further. I would hope that,
if you find yourself back in the area, you would allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence. You can contact us at (731)422-1818, or reach me anytime at lreskey@vistahost.net. The Courtyard Team looks forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Lisa R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks to all Courtyard Jackson team, who have attend us very kindly. Special thanks to Via, bar attendant, for the conversation, tips about the beverages and for making our stay more plesant. Certanly I'll take the same hotel in the next visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ediwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardtn, General Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Jackson was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Thank you!

Lisa R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Cornelius did an awesome job taking care of us. He went the extra mile by helping us scan a very important form that allowed us to submit it before the deadline. Cornelius has excellent people skills. He is an asset to Marriott.

We all slept well. Mattress and pillows were excellent.

Valdez Family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Armando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardtn, General Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

I truly appreciate the wonderful comments! Everything we do is aimed at providing excellent service and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay!

if you find yourself back in the area, please do not hesitate to let us know when you're returning. You can contact us at (731)422-1818, or reach me anytime at lreskey@vistahost.net. The Courtyard Team looks forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Lisa R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stay at Courtyard Marriott's all over the south for work! They have caused me to be very picky, they set the bar high. But THIS LOCATION IN JACKSON, TN takes the cake. The staff was amazing which made my entire weekend fantastic. Thank you to everyone at Courtyard Jackson, TN.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adam N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardtn, General Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I truly appreciate the wonderful comments! Everything we do is aimed at providing excellent service and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay!

if you find yourself back in the area, please do not hesitate to let us know when you're returning. You can contact us at (731)422-1818, or reach me anytime at lreskey@vistahost.net. The Courtyard Team looks forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Lisa R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Oh, to remember the days when the first Courtyards popped up around the USA... A real restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner to busy business people. A happy hour to allow the guests to meet, chat, and sometimes make new friends.

Today, the Marriott cleanliness still exists. But, sadly, the lack of what used to make traveling a bit easier, now turns me off. I would rather stay at a Fairfield or Hampton, have a quick breakfast while reading a courtesy newspaper and be on my way facing the day feeling mom's sendoff still exists.

Maybe the Marriott top brass spend too much time at the most expensive Marriott locations.

Hope someone is paying attention.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Get a room where the foot of the bed faces the TV. Otherwise whoever works at the desk cannot see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 60TampaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JC S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

60TampaZ

Thank you so much for leaving your comments with us! I am so sorry the remolded Courtyard brand is not up to your standard. As we've received mixed opinions on the upgrade, everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with the best possible accommodations. If there's anything we might be able to do to earn your return and provide accommodations that would equate to mom's sendoff, please let me know. Contact me anytime at jshelley@vistahost.net. I truly hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

While planning to meet family from two different parts of the country in Jackson, TN, we chose the Courtyard based on past experiences with this chain. It's location was perfect for us being just off the highway and near our rendezvous point. This facility is relatively new. It was very clean and we had a spacious room (king room) and a very comfortable bed. The room was pleasantly decorated and had a warm feeling to it. The staff were the best part of the stay. They were very helpful and courteous - always a "hello" in the hallways.

My only complaint is that there was no complimentary breakfast, an amenity I was used to when I frequently travelled on business. Simple amenities have also disappeared like complimentary coffee all day. I booked this chain hotel, in part, because of these amenities. I don't know if this is due to corporate or local policy, but it would have been a nice feature. Even though the hotel served breakfast for a price, we went to a local restaurant for breakfast mainly based on value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank physicsgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JC S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

physicsgeek

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments with Trip Advisor. I am so delighted our staff was able to provide you a warm environment during your visit. We strive to maintain a positive and welcoming culture.

I do apologize for the inconvenience of not offering a complimentary breakfast. As the Courtyard brand has recently begun to undergo a makeover, the brand now offers an al carte menu with competitive pricing for the convenience of our guests.

We'd love the opportunity to serve you again. If there's anything we might be able to do to earn your total satisfaction, please do not hesitate to let us know. Contact us at (731)422.1818, or you can reach me directly at jcvistahost@gmail.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

LaCynthia, Jay, and Cornelius showed my family and I the best hospitality I've experienced in a long time. Everyone made sure we were taken care of no matter what we need use of the business center, food, etc. I also had one of the best caramel macchiatto's.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardtn, General Manager at Courtyard Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I truly appreciate the wonderful comments! Everything we do is aimed at providing excellent service and I am very glad that you enjoyed our team members.

if you find yourself back in the area, please do not hesitate to let us know when you're returning. You can contact us at (731)422-1818, or reach me anytime at lreskey@vistahost.net. The Courtyard Team looks forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Lisa R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jackson
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jackson
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jackson
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jackson Northeast
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jackson

Address: 200 Campbell Oaks Dr, Jackson, TN 38305-1313
Region: United States > Tennessee > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#5 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £89 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jackson 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jackson Hotel Jackson
Jackson Courtyard
Jackson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing