We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience!”
Review of Charit Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charit Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great family experience!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Charit Creek Lodge. The mile or so hike in was great but not so challenging that our kids age 2, 3, and 6 couldn't make it down with little assistance. The creek itself was a great spot for the kids as we'll with some deeper holes mixed in with the shallow steam. The food was top notch, cast iron skillet cornbread, spicy turnip greens and blueberry cobbler were the highlights of an amazing dinner which was followed by a huge breakfast the next morning. The kids loved roasting marshmallows by the fire, maybe in a few years we'll be able to join the host Gregg on a 2 mile starlight hike we regretted missing. Gregg's knowledge of the history of the site is impressive, he also led a tour highlighting the long history of the rustic cabins and other structures on site between dinner and dessert. All in all a wonderful and memorable trip, we're looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mims, FL
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Greg really does a great job running this lodge. The showers in the bathhouse were hot, the mattresses and bedding new, and the man really knows how to cook!!! But if you take him up on the star-gazing, be prepared for a steeeep hike! Because it will turn tired whiny girls toward vengeful thoughts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphEttaRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a truly unique place and experience. Located in the wilderness of Big South Fork, the Charit Creek Lodge was a sanctuary as we hiked in with a rainstorm on our heels. Greg met us under the tinroof of the porch. He provided our shelter in the Jake's cabin. We were given a comfy bed and good clean sheets for the night. There's no electricity but propane provides refrigeration for the kitchen & hot water for the toilets and showers.

We dined in the warm light of kerosene lamps. Greg made skillet fried chicken, cayenne peppered greens, garlic & cheese mashed potatoes, cornbread and more. The history of the place is very interesting and the rain cleared long enough for our post dinner tour.

The next morning we awoke to a truly glorious verdant valley. Breakfast of eggs, sausage, biscuits, grits & gravy was provided.

One of the greatest parts of the experience is that the loop trail to Twin Arches is just out the front door of Charit Creek Lodge. That hike has so much to offer it's hard to start. We stretched ours out to 8 miles with side trips but one can get to the arches in just 1.5 miles.

I only wished we had stayed another day. Thanks to Greg for his warm Southern hospitality. My wife and I enjoyed it as did our 16 year old nephew. What a fun trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_scottcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our Trail Life USA Troop hiked to the Charit Creek Lodge in July and enjoyed a fabulous lunch served by Gregg White. We highly recommend their facilities and very much liked the hospitality. Gregg served us grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, potato soup and freshly baked cookies. Gregg also provided a tour of the grounds as well. May God Bless Gregg in his endeavor and business. We hope to see him again someday soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Charit Creek lodge is an experience you almost don't want to tell anyone about because you want to keep it all to yourself. Our family of four spent two days there when the weather was perfect. The new concessionaire, Gregg, was friendly and attentive and cooked us great meals. The surroundings were beautiful and the hiking spectacular. We would highly recommend staying here if you want a true getaway in an outdoor setting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KenHilleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northvill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Larry & Christie were wonderful hosts! We felt very welcome & taken care of. Our cabin was cozy & warm with the wood burning stove. We loved the hikes in and out- breath taking scenery! The location of the lodge was unique, peaceful & picturesque. The meals were robust & tasty- very satisfying. We stayed just one night on our way from Michigan to Florida for Easter break but wish we had more time to spend there. The kids (12 & 15) had a great experience- no electronics!!! They even played with sticks! We all enjoyed the rustic setting as well as horseback riding on trails with Larry earlier in the day. It was memorable, enlightening for the kids,fun & definitely worth the small detour off I-75! We look forward to going back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Charit Creek Lodge - currently being managed by Southeast Pack Trips - is one of those amazing experiences that every outdoor-loving person needs to have. Nestled in the Big South Fork National rec area, the lodge is steeped in history and is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It's situated about a mile from a trailhead where you hike in to spend some quality time "roughing it"... even though it's the easiest "roughing" I've ever had. Whether a springboard for the Twin Arches or a great day horseback riding, this is one of the places I won't ever be able to say enough good things about.

Room Tip: The stay is customized based on your needs - make sure you contact them in advance to work out the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicotye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
19.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Whitley City
Red Roof Inn Whitley City
#1 of 1 in Whitley City
28 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huntsville
35 reviews
17.7 mi away
Big South Fork Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Parkland Motel
Parkland Motel
#1 of 1 in Stearns
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Charit Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charit Creek Lodge

Property: Charit Creek Lodge
Address: Fork Ridge Road, Jamestown, TN 37862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charit Creek Lodge is a rustic back country lodge located in Big South Fork, only accessible by hiking. Biking or horseback. Catering to outdoor enthusiasts of all kinds. Charit Creek Lodge has 4 private cabins that accommodate up to 12 guests each. The Main Lodge contains the, Dining Hall and Manager's Quarters, Kitchen and a covered front porch. All cabins are private and have 12 bunk style beds, wood burning stove, a screened in porch and open air porch with rocking chairs. Full Service accommodations include: bed linens, dinner and breakfast, restroom & shower facilities. Toiletries and towels are not provided. Hostel accommodations include bed (linens not provided), restroom & shower facilities. Guests provide their own bed linens, toiletries, towels and food. Use of a propane stove, cooler and outdoor sink will be available. Cooking and eating utensils can be provided. Due to the remoteness of our lodge refrigeration is not available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charit Creek Hotel Jamestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing