We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big South Fork Lodge & Horse Campground
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Zephyrhills, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family trip!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I had a great stay!We come to Tennessee every year, this was a first time stay for us. We have three children and we all love to fish so the ponds were ideal for us. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank spotwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Jim and Claudia were the best hosts you can find! They were so accomodating to us for any and everything we needed. The lodging wasn't fancy but very livable and easy to access. Our own little 4 stall barn, paddocks, firewood and grill as well as full kitchenette. Great food at their Hitching Post Restaurant and Store. Easy access to really fun trails and best of all a great hot shower! Phone service is pretty sketchy everywhere in the area but the store has wi fi and is a great place to meet people, talk trails and horses and chow down on some great food pretty much early to late! I highly recommend a trip here and you will be ready to go back as there are so many trails and beautiful sights to see!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was our first time to camp here and are already on our way back ...six days and counting. It is a nice, peaceful place for you and your horse. We had our own 2 stall barn and camped with our horses. Keeps your horse close, no lugging tack.....walk out your camper door and onto your horse (as long as you have a husband who will have him saddled up for you : ) :) Jim and Claudia are very nice, friendly, helpful with riding directions......and Jim makes one mean hamburger and omelet. If you want to stay at the Marriott with all of its luxuries, then go to the Marriott. If you want a great place to camp, close to the trails and beautiful scenery to ride thru......then this is it. I will recommend it to all our horse friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Jim and his wife Claudia run this little place in the mountains. The couple are just like their accommodations: unpretentious and comfortable. The lodge rooms are affordable, clean, and spacious. There are no clock radios (bring a watch as it straddles EST and CT, which keeps your cell phone confused — if you even get service) and the television is good for movies only. (Claudia says she has 900+ to choose from?!) Some of the rooms have up to five beds and are cooking rooms but the couple let you cook outside on your camp stove. All rooms have mini fridges. The lodge is close to many trailheads (one behind the store) and the couple also run the Hitching Post (across the street), which has snacks and a small grill. If your looking for a modern, fancy accommodations this is not the place for you. It's a great place to make your base camp for adventures in the Big South Fork National Recreation Area and nearby Daniel Boone NF. (Jim will shuttle hikers and canoeists.) This is a popular place for horseback riders, but great for hikers too!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mudfoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was my second visit at the Lodge.....I stayed there again during the World's Longest Yard Sale. I found the owners, Claudia and Jim, to be very accommodating. I read a rather negative review about the "instructions" taped all over the room....yes, they are there. But I look at it this way - these people have worked hard to earn a living by keeping this place going, and obviously there have been folks who have been destructive. If I'm going to do no harm, I am not going to worry about some simple, common-sense instructions....in fact, I have to chuckle when I see them, because I look at them as owners protecting what they've worked hard for. If you have kids who have to be entertained with a pool, TV, video games, etc, then you might want to move on....but if you want a nice place to shower with a good, clean bed to rest after all day of shopping at yard sales, this is a good, quiet place to rest. Have not had the pleasure of eating in the grill, but I know when I checked out the next morning, things were smelling mighty tempting over there!!! It's a little out of the way from the 127 Sale, but a beautiful country drive, and less costly than any of the motels on the "route." Will DEFINITELY go back....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vsp1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed during the Worlds Longest Yard Sale. Its off the 127 Highway but for the price it was worth the drive. Most hotels hike up the prices during this weekend by $200 or more. This was under $80. We didn't have TV, but were offered free DVD. We were tired so didn't need more than a hot shower and a clean bed. We left early in the morning before they opened for breakfast so cant review the food. Would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank c0rgi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

When we made our camping reservation, we weren't told the camping site was inaccessible due to poor road conditions. Ended up putting down our tents at the back of the "lodge" (antonym, if I've ever seen one) with one of the rooms offered for use as our bathroom. This same room and bathroom was offered to several other people who were just traveling through and needed some place to change. No offer to refund our money when we arrived and were told the campground was inaccessible. The area is beautiful; this place is deplorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
23.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Whitley City
Red Roof Inn Whitley City
#1 of 1 in Whitley City
28 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huntsville
34 reviews
22.3 mi away
Parkland Motel
Parkland Motel
#1 of 1 in Stearns
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Big South Fork Motor Lodge
4.8 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#3 of 6 in Jamestown
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big South Fork Lodge & Horse Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big South Fork Lodge & Horse Campground

Property: Big South Fork Lodge & Horse Campground
Address: 3607 Leatherwood Ford Rd, Jamestown, TN 38556-5864 (Formerly Big South Fork Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge has 3 Large motel style rooms that sleep 4 adults, 3 Kitchenettes that sleep 7 and include a microwave, full size refrigerator, and coffee maker. All rooms have TV with DVD players. The railroad cabin has water and electric but is otherwise very rustic. It sits alone in the woods and is accessible only with truck or 4x4 SUV. With a double bed and full size futon on main level and 3 twin beds in the loft, the cabin comfortably sleeps 7 and has a full bath. 9 barns with a total of 42 stalls, our trailer hook ups are at the barn and have electric and water hookup. At our campground you camp WITH your horses and saddle up at the barn. The Cumberland Trail Head is directly across the street from our campground. There is a communal dump available for our guests. Also available on the property is the primitive campground, shower house, and 2 stocked ponds. The Hitching Post Grill and Grocery is conveniently located across the street and provides made to order meals, groceries, beer, camping supplies, ice, tack, pool table, auto supplies, air, shavings, hay and feed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing