We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
58
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn bath house beautiful trails big south fork enjoyed our stay shawn trailer mercantile sawdust campers hosts unload manure nags riders trailhead roomy
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Our group has traveled and horse camped together for several years. We are from Wisconsin, Illinois, and Missouri. My wife and I arrived late due to a flat tire on the way. I couldn't believe the concern and welcoming attitude of Shaun and Donna. We have never been anywhere that helps you settle in like they do. OMG! While we were getting our horses settled Shaun cleaned out our trailer. It was a real mess after two days and 855 miles of travel with three horses. I love their barn set up with plenty of wheel barrows and forks, roomy stalls, water accessibility, sawdust, and easy wheel barrow dumping. Wash stations for the horses were close to barns. The whole place was clean and well maintained. We are self contained so didn't use the shower houses, but when I looked at them they were neat and clean. Their camp rules are easy to comply with and I feel are in place to enhance your stay. Shaun will take you to other trail heads with prior arrangements..Rates are average, but cheap when you factor in amenities
Only negatives I can give are very minor and really being picky. We'd like a sandy spot for horses to roll. Ours did use the round pen, but it was a bit hard from recent rains while we were there. As far as the Big South Fork Trails are concerned, we were disappointed. They are great for beginner riders and gated horses. Not challenging for us and we prefer single track trails. The trails are the only reason we probably will not return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at True West Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Dan! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review - and a glowing one at that! We're sorry to hear that the trails were not your style. There are a few more challenging trails in BSF, but most are well groomed as you noticed. We truly enjoyed your company while you were here and bummed that you will likely not be back. However, we wish you well on your future trips and should you ever be in the area, please don't hesitate to pop in and say hello! We'd enjoy that. Sincerely, Shawn, Donna and Brittany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Shawn and Donna are wonderful hosts. From meeting your trailer with a fork and a cart to clean out the back and haul your tack and hay to your stalls, to providing detailed maps and directions to the trails, they are there to help make your stay enjoyable. Shawn was able to help us out with a rider who got overheated and met us out on the trails with a trailer to take her and her horse back to the barn. Our sites were close to the barn and the restroom/shower house and the stalls were airy and comfortable for our horses. They do have some large stalls for big horses (which I used to have and would have appreciated for them). The regular stalls are plenty big for our (now) more normal sized steeds! We just scratched the surface of trails available from the campground and will be back to explore some more. Nice deck and covered room where we got to watch the Belmont stakes!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at True West Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Whew! So glad all turned out well with your situation on the trails. That's why we provide our cell number on our maps - so that if you get into trouble, we can help you out! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and watching Justify win the Triple Crown with you and your group was so much fun! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Sincerely, Shawn, Donna & Brittany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

True West owners provided a great experience for us. They were extremely attentive and helpful. They helped unload horses and tack and provided many other services that made our stay easy and fun. Shaun was always glad to go above and beyond in making our stay pleasant. All we had to do was ask and he would provide.

Room Tip: Some camp sites are down a steep hill from the barn, but Shaun was always happy to help haul things for you.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at True West Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

We are at your service, Sarah! Our goal, while you are at True West, is for you to have a great time! And when you show up at check-in, and pull up to the barn, the heaviest thing you should be carrying is your horse's lead rope! We're here to make sure you get the most of your get-away - whether it's one night, or a week or more! We're glad you enjoyed your stay - thank you for leaving us a review. It really helps us to spread the word about our campground and the HORSEpitality ® we provide!! We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future! Sincerely, Shawn, Donna & Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend at True West Campground. Hospitality was beyond excellent, clean stalls, campsite was level and well drained, nice trails leading out of camp, well descriptive maps of all the trails. We will most definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at True West Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We love those words, Sherry! "...will most definitely return...". We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! That means we are doing our job. We look forward to your return and hope you won't wait too long! Shawn, Donna & Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Very nice and well run campground. Clean and friendly. Owners do more the necessary to help campers get in and set up. Barn was very safe and roomy. Camp and store very clean. Owners strive to make sure every guest is cared for and needs are taken care of. Camp is just off the trail heads so no need to ride long distance to vet to trails.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cowboywayne7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at True West Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, Wayne! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make it so that you are on vacation and don't have to work at it. It's our job to make your stay the best! We're happy to see that we've accomplished that for you! We look forward to seeing you again some day soon! Shawn, Donna & Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews