We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke Scented Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Johnson City
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Smoke Scented Room”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The location is convenient, just off the interstate, right behind a Cracker Barrel and walking distance to Subway. There was definitely nothing special about the rooms, but nothing terrible, and it was the cheapest in the area. I paid about $80 for what seemed like it should have been a $60 room, but I don't know if there was some activity going on that week that had rates inflated or if that's just the going rate around there. Wi-fi was free and worked.

Not a lot to do in this area, but I needed to be here for work. Breakfast was decent (love any place with a waffle iron, as this one had). The milk was in an insulated container but not on ice or refrigerated, which seemed wrong to me. Also had the standard bagels, cereal, juices, etc.

The only issue I really had was that my room smelled like cigarette smoke, though it was a non-smoking room. I called the desk as soon as I checked in and told them so that I wouldn't be charged for the smoke scent. I let them know that I didn't want to bother with changing rooms, so I can't complain too much because they probably would have moved me if I wanted to. But when I get somewhere, I want the room to be right and not require my moving around. The desk clerk did come and spray my room with air freshener, which made my room smell like the freshener for about 30 minutes before it returned to the smoke smell. The desk clerk said she didn't smell the smoke scent, but I definitely did, and when I returned home my roommate asked if I'd been in a bar because I smelled smoky. The smoke smell seemed to be everywhere in the room... mattress, bedding, carpet, etc. Didn't seem like a one-time smoking incident.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear “Stephanie G,”
Please accept both my gratitude for your thorough review of our hotel, and my most sincere apologies regarding the smoke odor in the room. First, I would like to let you know that we did indeed address the room in which you stayed: it has been shampooed and cleaned top to bottom to remove any remnants of odor. Second, I am happy to tell you that we do now offer a full hot breakfast including yogurt, eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruits, juices and coffee, and of course, your specially noted, fresh made waffles. We do rotate the milk out during the course of breakfast so that it stays nice and cold for all the guests the entire length of the breakfast. Thank you for noting that concern in your review! I appreciate the time it took to put your thoughts in writing and hope you will consider allowing us to host your next visit to the Johnson City, TN area.
Sincerely,

William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    31
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
35
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice place to stay, great beds and good service. Just off I-40 and with in miles to a lot of things to do. Customer service was very good. Beds were comfortable. Had a problem with my key card not working on the door, they sent the maintenance man right over to fix it. He was polite and got it fixed quickly. Had a very inviting pool, just wasn't open yet for this time of the year. Parking was very safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear “Robert B,”
I wanted to thank you for your great review of our hotel here in Johnson City, TN! I will pass your comments along to my maintenance staff. Please feel free to call directly to book your next visit to the area. Our pool will be open shortly for the season. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your experience on Trip Advisor!
Safe Travels,

William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. The man behind the desk was very nice and recommended a great place to eat. I do not like to make reservations cause I like to see a place before I stay there. The rooms here are very clean and the hot breakfast was awsome!! I will stay here again when I come thru this area.

Room Tip: call hotel directly for room rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear “john g”
I would like to extend my most sincere gratitude for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here in Johnson City. It is a great pleasure to be able to see reviews of how our guests feel about their stays with us and a greater pleasure when those reviews are as positive as yours! We will all be looking forward to your next visit to the area and I hope we can impress you again with our dedication to cleanliness, our commitment to offering a great breakfast and our determination to provide excellent service to each guest!
Sincerely,
William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Overall, this hotel did the trick. It was clean, quiet, and the rooms have clearly been recently the updated. The only comment regarding the rooms is that the beds are FIRM (a friend of ours was staying in another room and reported the same thing). There was a stain on the carpet, I didn't think much of it, but my husband thought it was blood. I liked the room more than my husband. The complementary breakfast was excellent: multiple hot offerings. The outdoor pool area looked really nice, it was a shame we visited during the winter!

The only real shortcoming is the staff. It took forever to check in. I realize we got there during the switch from day to night staff, but we pre-paid (booked via Priceline)--we just needed a room key! I will say, both staff members were exceedingly kind and apologetic for the delay. Then, when we checked out, the woman at the front desk was rude. She told me how booking through the hotel would give me a better rate than Priceline. I told her how much I paid and she retorted, "well usually you get a better rate through the hotel, but you still have to pay membership for Priceline!" Obviously she doesn't understand how the website works (it's not membership based). Regardless, the cattiness was uncalled for. I was perfectly polite and had pre-paid in full.

I'd consider staying again, but I'd also evaluate the other options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear “eightwednesday”
I would like to thank you for your thorough review of our hotel! It is always nice to receive feedback from our guests. Allow me first to apologize for both your slow service at check-in and for the cattiness you experienced from one of my staff members. Please rest assured that I will be addressing this immediately with my full desk staff. As our intention is to always provide the best in cleanliness and service, we will be conducting a detailed inspection of our carpets so we can take care of the stain you mentioned. Thank you very much for bringing that to my attention! I am very happy to hear that the breakfast options were to your liking. On your next visit to the area, however you choose to book your trip, I do hope you will contact the hotel directly so that I may make a personal effort to ensure an excellent stay. Perhaps if you stay in the summer you could enjoy the pool that looked so inviting on your last trip!
Many thanks!
William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a spur-of-the-moment getaway with friends. We booked two rooms through Priceline, which gave us a heftier-than-usual discount for staying here.

Staff was friendly, although very slow on both check-in and check-out. Nice breakfast bar and decent WiFi. Rooms were OK, although a bit noisy. This place has some of the firmest mattresses I've ever seen.

Overall, this was an average stay. I'd stay again here if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitmapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear “bitmapped”
Thank you for letting us hear about your recent stay with us in Johnson City. I want to let you know that my staff and I are very committed to the highest standards of service and I am sorry that your check-in and check-out processes ran longer than usual. We will commit ourselves to making this process as quick and easy as possible for your next visit with us! It is nice to hear that you liked the breakfast selection and wireless internet. My apologies for the noise you experienced. I do hope you decide to visit us again so I can turn your average experience into an excellent experience next time. Feel free to call us directly at the hotel or you can go to Choicehotels.com to book your future stays!
Hopefully,
William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This Quality Inn is nice. Friendly clerk at check-in and check-out. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

I would recommend this Quality Inn and will stay there again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear “Lisa W”
I was very happy to read that your stay began and ended with one of my friendly staff members. I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. We will all look forward to your next visit. Be sure to call us direct or you can go to ChoiceHotels.com to book your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Inn of Johnson City!
William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Jameson Inn the night before leaving for the Appalachian Trail to back pack. Nice and comfortable before hitting the trial. The room was a good value. Very clean. Minifridge and microwave would have been useful if staying for more than one night. The breakfast was ok, not very many healthy or filling options, but was good for a cold buffett.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIjohnsoncityTN, General Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear “abagirl”
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our location. I hope your back packing trip on the Appalachian Trail was rewarding! Since your last visit with us, we have actually changed brands to a Quality Inn. Interestingly enough, as a part of the change we have expanded our breakfast menu to include a few more options such as boiled eggs and yogurt. Thank you again for your review and be sure to call direct or go to ChoiceHotels.com to book your next visit with us!
Sincerely,
William Baumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn Johnson City
Quality Inn Johnson City
#11 of 19 in Johnson City
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Johnson City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Johnson City
WoodSpring Suites Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Johnson City

Property: Quality Inn Johnson City
Address: 119 Pinnacle Dr, Johnson City, TN 37615-4666 (Formerly Jameson Inn Johnson City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Johnson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Johnson City
Johnson City Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing