We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church Fellowship”
Review of Salt N' Pepper - CLOSED

Salt N' Pepper
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Church Fellowship”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had about 40 church members to visit Salt N' Pepper. They knew in advance that we would be coming there to dine. They accommodated us by seating us on their outside veranda. We had several table to order appetizers and of course on Sundays they were swamped, but they had our food out in record time and it was delicious. I heard no complaints from any of the parishioners. We ordered everything from meatloaf, fish, chicken/waffles, chicken wings, dirty south burgers, chicken livers, chicken breast, collard greens, mac n cheese, fried pickles, deep fried mushrooms, carrot cake and banana pudding. Everyone loved the corn fritters and everything was seasoned to perfection. Good, good eating and the service was outstanding for such a large group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank torivsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Mmmm soul food! The mac and cheese was fabulous, red beans and rice just the right amount of spice. Catfish was great too!! Find this on restaurant.com!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank indyhug111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocked at the price”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The food, at best, was just home cooking. Nothing special but good. Decor, non existing, table and chairs in poor shape. The most surprising the was the Price !! Two Tea's, 2 meatloaf dinners and 1 piece off cake (which was very disappointing) cost more than 2 steak dinners with appetizer and two large beers at OutBack.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, TN.
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Still the King of Tri-Cities soul food....”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

.....and yes, the service can be spotty (but friendly) at times, but on this day, everything came together. In spite of them being swamped with a party of 30, we were seated after about a 10 minute wait and our order was taken. I had the chicken livers, deep fried to perfection as they always are, and my wife had the fried pork chop, which was the equal to the livers (or so she told me without saving me a bite). Our sides were mac-n-cheese,collards, pinto beans and a potato cake. All homemade and all delicious. I haven't had a potato cake that good since my mamaw was alive in the late 60's. Crunch exterior, and creamy, chunky, tasty goodness inside.

If you come here and it's crowded or the service is a little slow, please be patient because the food will more than make up for it. They serve Pepsi product and very good sweet tea. They also have a great dessert menu, although if you get one it will likely be to go because of the generous portions you'll get with your meal.

I highly recommend this place, and it's one of my favorite places in the are.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Soul Food Ever!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant and absolutely will not be my last!! The food was incredible and the service was amazing! Our appetizer was fried green tomatoes, I ordered country fried chicken w/okra, mac and cheese, cornbread and a cup of potato soup. My husband ordered Mississippi catfish w/ beans, okra and cornbread. My daughter ordered the same as u did. We all had banana pudding for dessert. Everything was hot and fresh, the chicken was juicy and seasoned all the way through, the catfish came with 2 huge juicy pieces and all the sides were incredible!!!! The banana pudding was better than grandma makes!!! All 3 dinners w/appetizer, cup of soup w/ desserts came to 64.25!!! It was a great value! Do not miss this place!!! Best Ever!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lela46scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt N' Pepper also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing