We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Review of The Battery - CLOSED

The Battery
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002236724194&ref=tn_tnmn#!/pages/The-Battery/212796668795127
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Crab cakes were really good(dinner portion).The tuna was perfectly cooked! Neat atmosphere. Prices weren't bad for the quality/quantity of food. After seeing some of the other reviews, I was I little worried. But I enjoyed my meal very much!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, Atmosphere and Service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We heard the experience at The Battery was inconsistent, but found it to be very good. We got Shrimp and Grits and Chicken Marsala. Both were very good. The atmosphere is kind of like a bar scene, but the building handled the noise and it was easy to talk a the the tables. The service was great. We will go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tried to like it”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've tried The Battery twice, once for dinner on a Friday evening in July, and once for the Sunday brunch buffet in August. I liked the brunch buffet much better than the dinner, but I had higher expectations for both.

At dinner I had the crab cake appetizer at $9 and it was not much larger than two inches across with some fancy garnish on the plate. I thought there would be at least two crab cakes, maybe three, for that price.

The Sunday brunch buffet seemed like a much better value. They offer breakfast foods and lunch foods, in addition to fresh fruit, fruit juices, and desserts. There is an omelet station where they will make an omelet to your liking, which was nice.

I really wanted to like The Battery but sadly, I doubt I will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNtraveler070567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in JC”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I went there last saturday , it was my first time & a friend and I went to just grab dinner around 9 and it wasn't empty nor was it filled it was very nice with a guy playing the beatles and some other great music, our server was super nice with us :) we ended up staying till 2 am, we didnt know they had music kinda like a club it was so nice! The only negative comment is that since people were drinking and dancing they would drop their cups and there was glass everywhere and no one cleaned it up so that was kinda dangerous but other then that it was very nice :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannipaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Taste of Charleston in Tennessee!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I read all the reviews & they just didn't line up with what my friends have been telling me. My local friends love this place. A friend & I decided to give it a try on a Saturday evening. We were seated quickly, & the service was great! We started with lobster fritters. $1 each during happy hour. Amazingly crisp & delicious! These are worth the trip all by themselves. Then I ordered the shrimp & grits ($9) which is oddly on the appetizer menu. When I got it, it was truly entree size! This was incredible. Truly better than many places I ordered this dish in Charleston! My friend had the crab cakes. She loved them, but they are Maryland style & I wasn't that crazy about the seasoning in them. We also had Virgin Margueritas. They were delicious! This isn't a fast food place & it is very laid back, just like in Charleston. We loved it! I can't wait until I visit Johnson City again & have some more lobster fritters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labsadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Battery also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing