We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I usually give lengthy reviews, however, just a few things to say... The hotel is very well decorated and has an old time feel to it in the lobby. The room/bathroom was very clean and spacious. The bed itself was very comfortable including the pillows and found nothing out of the ordinary that stood out. Guest services were great with us and very helpful. The only issue you may find if everything goes smoothly is parking... may have to walk more than you like to get to the hotel, however, it wasn't an issue for me. Now, it may for others though as the front has limited parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our facility to be well decorated. We always strive to make every guests stay a memorable one! We hope that your travels will bring you back to the area again and that we can serve you in the future!

Best Regards,

Beth Long
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    116
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
141
147
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lookout
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April and it is beautiful!
Our room was large, the bathroom was incredible(!) and very clean.
No complaints. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant where the food was great -but apparently on the weekends
they only have two waitresses (even though there was a large party coming in who had made a reservation in advance) and no one bussing tables. The wait was long and service was slow, although we were amazed at how kind and friendly the over-worked waitresses were!
Great restaurant - but not so great management. Only go if you have plenty of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your candid, insightful review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel as well as our friendly staff but do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and will certainly keep your comments in mind. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the Johnson City area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at the Carnegie March 18-20 at the recommendation of my client, who lives in Johnson City. (She really likes the spa there!) I was in the area for business meetings in Kingsport, which is about 30 minutes away, and rooms weren't available at the hotels where I usually stay. At the Carnegie, Matthew was very welcoming at check-in. The room was clean and the bathroom very spacious, both with some historic/vintage charm. After a day of sitting due to travel and because the weather was nice, I went for a run around 5 pm along the main road the hotel was situated on. A couple of times during the 40 minute run, cars drove by and people yelled things at me out the windows. One time it was an awful profanity I've rarely heard spoken, and I don't have "virgin ears." After that, I didn't feel comfortable outside by myself. Stick to the hotel's workout facility!! My The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, but none of the four pillows suited me. They were either lumpy or filled with feathers and went flat when you put your head on them. Breakfast at Wellingtons was good, but the menu seemed to have nearly the same options and prices as room service, so I had breakfast in my room the second morning. It was delivered promptly. The waffle was soggy, but the yogurt with fruit and granola were great both mornings! One morning I didn't get a wake up call, as requested. Just a heads up to not rely on that service and have a back up alarm, which I did. As a recap. I liked the hotel and disliked the neighborhood (weren't many appealing restaurants in the area - mostly fast food). Does seem convenient though for anyone visiting ETSU!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I have passed along you comments to our staff. Since your stay, we have taken corrective measures regarding wake-up calls by installing a new phone system which leaves little room for error. I have also passed along your concerns regarding breakfast and I apologize that it was less than satisfactory during your stay. I hope if you visit the Johnson City area again, you will give us the chance to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,

Beth Long - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is first class, clean, and accommodating. I have stayed here multiple times and it has consistently been the highest quality. Detached restaurant Wellingtons is a great place to grab a bite to eat and the attached bar is welcoming as well as accommodating. The beds are very comfortable, the room is very spacious - Fox News is available: Depending on what side of the hotel you are staying on you will have a beautiful view. conveniently located near East Tennessee State University you will not be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mjkamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Many thanks for the great review! We strive to create a warm and welcoming environment where our guests feel comfortable and appreciated. We are so happy to have delivered that during your stay and that you were able to dine in Wellington's Restaurant. Thank you for also mentioning our convenient location to East Tennessee State University. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best,

Beth Long - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place is beautiful and is in a great location for people who want to visit ETSU. We were greeted by very friendly members of the staff at the desk at check in and also everytime we had a question about a service or where we might find something. Our room was HUGE and gorgeous and extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words about our team! We are delighted that you will come back and stay with us again. It is truly the best compliment we can receive. We appreciate your loyalty and will work hard to keep delivering the best service our valued guests deserve. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Beth Long - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've stayed at the Carnegie a few times, when we visit at ETSU in Johnson City, and I can advise you that this is the most consistently satisfying and luxurious place in the area. Time seems to have stepped back to an era when well-dressed and gracious clerks greet the visitors as they pass through the big glass revolving door. The decor is very beautiful, with a grand piano, lovely artwork, thick carpets, spacious elevators with brass decoration, and an amazing restaurant located within the hotel (with room service available). The rooms are, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the big front window showed us a lovely view. Amenities were top-notch. The bathroom has a unique door with a frosted window, and there is a separate corner shower in addition to the luxurious, deep tub on the other side, separated by a wide double-sink vanity. We slept soundly and wish we could have stayed longer! (The location is directly across from ETSU and could not be more convenient!)

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms at the street side are the quietest and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to give your review of our property. The decor of the hotel, the amenities we provide, and the customer service you receive from our staff, is all part of our goal to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one! We certainly hope that your travels to East Tennessee State University bring you back to Johnson City soon and that we will have the pleasure to serve you again!

Best Regards,

Beth Long - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. This is a very nice hotel. It is right across the street from East Tennessee State. Since it was so cold when we were there we didn't notice what is probably a ton of activity around the hotel at all times.

The lobby and rooms are very nicely done and the whole place has a old world feel to it. We had an odd number room that faced a parking garage behind the hotel. There is a train that runs behind the garage and every night we heard it. I would strongly recommend getting a even number room that faces the street if possible.

We have stayed at a lot of Hampton Inns (a chain I like a lot) and places like that. Good, reasonable, clean accommodations when you are traveling. The Carnegie is different in that it has room service, a salon, a good restaurant attached. More of a destination hotel than a overnight spot to rest a weary head. Very good, classy hotel. Just stay on the even side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and we apologize for the disturabance caused by the train that runs behind our property. We strive to accomidate every request and if your travels bring you back to Johnson City, we will always be more than happy to honor your request to stay on the front side of the hotel. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best Regards,

Beth Long - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W. State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing