We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The style and comforts were awesome!”
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ended up staying in June for one night but we were very impressed! The hotel had a great style of history and just little things that you don't see in a Holiday Inn for example. The rooms were very clean and had more than enough of everything you needed. We were not able to dine in at the hotel but I would like to try that sometime.

A must in Johnson City if you are looking for a nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I live in Winston Salem NC. My husband, son and I love to travel and we do so as often as we can. We appreciate club level, 5 star service and can, admittedly, be a little tough to please.

Our stay at The Carnegie Hotel was a total pleasure. On Thursday, we dropped our boat off at Sonny's Marina (on Boone Lake, see review) and checked into The Carnegie Hotel Harrison Suite (huge) on the 5th floor with connecting double queen room. We are thrilled to be able to check in with a beloved pet, Rosie O'Malley, a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier. Family members began to arrive around 8pm. George at the front desk provided an awesome pizza delivery suggestion (Scratch's) and assisted with our order. Back in the suite, we ate, laughed and decorated til after midnight. The layout of the suite on the floor allowed us our late night get together without disturbing anyone. Wow!

Next day, more family arrive to check into their King rooms. Their rooms are on the same floor and nearby, just as I had requested. The rooms have king beds, sleeper sofas and full size roll away beds (just as I requested). The suite and all rooms are immaculately clean, have high-thread count linens and plush, absorbent towels. The mattresses are wonderful! The staff helped us rearrange the sofa and chairs in the suite to accommodate the blow up pool ball pit for our one-year-old guest of honor. Next day, off to the airport while the cleaning staff (best I have ever encountered!) return our messy spaces to orderly. My niece, her husband and their one year arrive at Tri Cities Airport following a long tiring flight from TX. The Harrison suite was the perfect setting for our relaxing, Friday afternoon gathering! We enjoyed club sandwiches and beverages while playing with the baby. Room service was prompt and extremely accommodating to our needs. Our bar sink stopped up and maintenance was there to fix it in less than ten minutes. So far, I am impressed at every turn!

Five of the ladies in our party head to the spa for their 7pm pedicure appointments (champagne and a long stem rose for each is such a nice surprise) while others baby sit and enjoy dessert in the room. Then, we all gather in the spacious suite bathroom to enjoy our little one as she takes her nightly bath in the gorgeous claw foot tub. She loves to play in the running water while bathing but we were reluctant to allow her to do so because temperatures often fluctuate at hotels. After thoroughly testing, we determined that The Carnegie water temp did not fluctuate at all! Fun!

Next day, breakfast together in the suite, then some of the ladies head to the salon (The BEST highlights/styling ever, they declare). Carnegie banquet staff are swift and efficient in setting up The Harrison Suite for the big birthday party! The food is amazing: fruit trays, cheese trays, flat bread with goat cheese and cranberries, BBQ wontons with Southern slaw, mini Beef Welllingtons, and much, much more...tastefully presented on a skirted buffet table. We end the party with a cake smash and another bubble bath.

Next day, breakfast in the suite and then to The Carnegie Library for family portraits. Amy from the front desk, assisted our photographer/cousin locate the perfect spots for our treasured family photos. The Four Generations picture on the exquisite leather sofa is our most treasured.

Flight departs at 5PM on Sunday. My husband hosts a World Cup Final party in the suite for the remaining family members. We stay thru Monday where we were granted a late check out.

It isn't cheap but it isn't ridiculously expensive either. I budgeted for an extra special event and it certainly was! Other than a billing error at check out (which Joel and Ryan acted promptly to correct), our stay could not have been better! Thanks to The Carnegie Hotel, one of my favorite vaca destinations is now Johnson City TN! Thank you Ryan, Joel, Amy and everyone else at The Carnegie for caring so much about everything you do there. I am a fan for life!

Room Tip: Request a suite! Worth every dollar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lewisville_NCLak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I felt like I was staying in a beautiful 1920's hotel (similar to the Peabody in Memphis). However, it was acutally built in 2000. From the moment we walked in til we left it was all about us and our needs. The desk clerks were always friendly and helpful. The room is gorgeous. Bathroom is about the size of most hotel rooms. We had dinner at Wellington's after a glass of wine in the lounge and it was so good. They were out of brussel sprouts but we got by. Such a wonderful relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank watermelonprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Carnegie Hotel is just about perfect. The rooms are spacious, the bed linens and towels are first rate, the bathroom had separate tub and shower and double sinks, the coffee in the room was from Starbucks, the closet was huge, the hallways were wide and bright. Everything was well maintained. What the rooms could really use is better accomodations for reading. There is no reading chair or reading lamp, small items that would go a long way toward improving the comfort and usability of the room.

Room Tip: Let-friendly rooms are on the first floor. If you want to avoid such rooms, be sure to say somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WVfanCharleston_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My daughter and I have stayed here three times in the past 6 months. We stay on our way to and from nashville to c'ville. Staff is friendly, helpful and kind. Rooms are huge and clean, as are the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Carnegie while in Johnson City for a wedding. The hotel is very nice. Our room had 2 queen sleigh beds and was nicely decorated. There is a small mini fridge in the room and the bathroom is huge. We enjoyed using the outdoor pool. We did not have time for spa services. ..maybe next time. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Even if this hotel was twice as much as we paid, it still would have been a good value. Excellent service. Rooms are large, and more importantly, very clean. I will absolutely be returning here the next time I am in Johnson City. Directly across the street from East Tennessee State University. Beautiful area of Tennessee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
466 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Johnson City
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Address: 1216 W State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604-6568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: £96 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing