We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carnegie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
US$94
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Johnson City(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express(Johnson City)
US$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Johnson City(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$51
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WoodSpring Suites Johnson City(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Johnson City(Johnson City)
US$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
435
127
30
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
127
30
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelsleigh bedseparate tub and showerdouble sinksparking garageclassic hotelnicest hotelthe lower levelold worldeast tennesseerooms are hugeroom servicechain hotelswalk in showercomfortable bedfront desk staffice machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great hotel which looks like an old hotel but is not. The front desk staff is great - we arrived about 1:00 and they were able to immediately give us a room. Our room had beautiful old furniture and the beds were comfortable. We had a spacious bath with a tub and a shower and double sinks. They have a spa onsite which is also nice. The hotel is located right across the street from the college so if you are coming for a college function it would be very convenient. It was very quiet in the hotel (we were on the side that did not face the street) so we got a great night of sleep.

If you are looking for modern decor, this is not your place. But if you want the look of a classic old hotel you will like this hotel. There is a restaurant/bar attached to the hotel which is convenient. There are also lots of restaurants close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel so you will not have street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarGazer55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at he Carnegie last weekend. We loved the vintage look of the hotel. Styled to appear like a hotel in the early 1900's it's a classic look. All the pieces in the main areas are antique though for obvious reasons the pieces in the rooms are reproductions.

The staff were very kind and helpful. We had a noisy neighbor and one call had him quiet in just a couple of minutes.

The rooms were nice but lived the bathrooms. They are gigantic. Bed was very comfortable.

Others have mentioned the train and lights. Heavy curtains seemed to help on both sides. We stayed in an odd number room but I could barely hear the train. The lights mentioned in other reviews were no problem with the. Curtains drawn.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morterias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful staff, very accommodating. The on site Austin Springs Spa is a jewel and worth the stay. The restaurant, Wellington, has an excellent bar tender and great southern fare. The Carnegie exemplifies Southern Hospitality in all areas.
This could be a five star property if they got rid of the sad, trite decor. And had an ice machine on every floor.

Room Tip: Suggest odd number rooms. Away from the lights of the four lane.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TNGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Step back in time at the Carnegie! Our room was delightful and the bed was very comfortable. The bath was large and bright with a very roomy shower. We have stayed several nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is not for the frugal, but not over priced and was worth it. A very relaxing and romantic stay. Check it out when you are in town.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The website makes you believe it is a luxurious, classic hotel and spa, it is simply run down, all furniture is beat up, wax build up and banged up wood make it look like a flea market, House keeping apparently could not understand what the do not disturb sign meant, toiletries were not always replaced, the in house restaurant food is ok but way over priced for what it is, trains run every other hour starting at 5am,traffic is really bad, a college is right across the street so college kids are rampant, not worth the cost, even though it was a business trip and it was all paid for I was uncomfortable spending that much on what I got. and not really a spa, just a couple massage tables and a facial area,

Room Tip: go somewhere else for quite, here you have constant train traffic, car traffic, college kids
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews