We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal”
Review of Tomy Thai

Tomy Thai
Ranked #124 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The fish was fresh and not overcooked. The spring rolls were appropriately crunchy fresh sprouts etc. and the Thai iced tea was well Thai iced tea. Nice meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

beautiful decor in surprisingly spacious dining room. Appetizers. entrees and desserts were beautifully prepared in generous portions and served with dignity and skill. I will return often and bring other friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Close to Best”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Real good meal where the whole family enjoyed with real nice flavors in the Tom Yum soup, drunken noodles and stir fried basil in the entrees. One of the best Thai restaurants for us.A surprise for us as we were visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Family_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best steamed dumplings!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Anytime I am in the area, I eat at this restaurant with my son and his family. My 4 year old grandson loves this place and when they visited me in Richmond, I took him to a Thai restaurant and in the middle of the meal he yells out "this is NOT Tomy Thai!". I guess that says it all. All the food I have tried is great but my favorite are the steamed dumplings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aok”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This review is very narrow because the sesame encrusted seard Tuna dish is so good that this is almost all I order. Better than similar dishes I have had in Atlanta, Chicago, New York. Spring rolls also a delight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomy Thai also viewed

 

Been to Tomy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing