We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mi gusta!!!”
Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #6 of 303 Restaurants in Johnson City
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abingdon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mi gusta!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were told a 30-45 minute wait on super busy night and it only took 15. They have a huge beer selection, we both had terrapin recreational IPA served in a can which is delicious. We had the pimento cheese dip appetizer, side salads, when shrimp met taco with mashed sweet potatoes and saltimbucco (chicken smothered in Marsala sauce cheese and ham) with a beet salad. We loved everything. Oh and we got biscuit that are soooo good too!

Helpful?
Thank Malfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    107
    67
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful service!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Went there about 2 weeks ago. The service was terrible and our waiter was kinda rude. The atmosphere is great but the food is a little pricy and there isn't much of a selection!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erincleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will Go Again!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We took some out of town guests to the restaurant and since it was relatively new in town, we hadn't been there before. Was totally surprised that on a Thursday evening the parking lot was packed and there was a waiting line. We were told 25 min. wait. We enjoyed looking at the train display showing the stores/buildings of Johnson City in the 1940's and were pleasantly surprised when we were texted that our table was ready only 15 min. into our wait! For our appetizer, we ordered the fried okra (aka Southern popcorn). It was the largest portion of an appetizer I've ever seen and was absolutely the BEST okra I've ever tasted! Our guests agreed. I ordered the Shrimp & Grits! WOW! My husband had the meatloaf and our guests both ordered the Country Fried Chicken with Country Ham & Marsala sauce. Everyone agreed the food was tasty and reasonably priced. Our waiter was pleasant and was very prompt at refilling our drinks. We look forward to returning and trying some more of their great food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAMKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh F, Marketing Coordinator at Tupelo Honey, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Buckeyenina,

Thank you so much for your review! We love to hear about our guests having great experiences with friends and family and are honored that we get to be a part of it. We'd like to have y'all back in on us, how's a $25 gift card sound? Send your mailing address to info@tupelohoneycafe.com and I'll get it in the mail!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My daugter and I ate a late lunch at Tupelo Honey yesterday and we were both very disappointed with the quality of the food. We arrived and the hostess said it would be a 30 minute wait (2:00pm in the afternoon). When we told her we were leaving, she suddenly had a table come available ("first come first serve table"). I ordered a microbrew and it was very good. My daughter ordered a salad and I ordered the "Black bean burger with sweet potato fries". The salad was boring and my burger was a "pile of black mush". The sweet potatoe fries were cold and tasted old. Needless to say, we did not finish the meal. The waitress asked if we needed a box but did not inquire as to why we still had most of our food remaining on the plate. The whole restaurant was cold and drafty and the bathrooms were too small to accommodate patrons for the size of the restaurant. We were so thankful we had not waited to have such a disappointing meal. We don't ever plan to return. I'm sad to say that this restaurant will have a hard time making it in Johnson City after the "new wears off".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh F, Marketing Coordinator at Tupelo Honey, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Jimmie,

I'm sorry that you had such an experience in our restaurant. It's clear that the food was not up to the quality that we seek to provide. Thank you for letting us know so that we can take steps to ensure we don't make the same mistakes twice. I would like to talk with you more about your experience if you would be willing? Send an email to info@tupelohoneycafe.com if you are.

Best,

Josh F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort with a Twist”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived at 5:30 on a rainy day and the restaurant was already almost full. Our server, Jessie, was great. All the staff seemed to be really hustling. I ordered Southern Fried Chicken Saltimbocca with Country Ham and Mushroom Marsala. It was very good. One caveat, there is not much country ham so don't expect much. The sauce was to die for and there were some perfectly cooked asparagus spears on top. It came with smashed cauliflower--also good. I also had the Holmes Wrecker cocktail. Made with whiskey, vermouth and orange bitters--really good! Hubby had the Nutty Fried Chicken which was indeed thoroughly encrusted with nuts and topped with a milk gravy, and asparagus spears. It cam with smashed sweet potatoes as a side. He really enjoyed it. The setting is a restored, historical train station and it looks amazing, especially to those of us who knew it when it was falling down and about to be condemned. Mondays all pints are $2, Tuesday $3 martinis and Wednesday's special is half price wine. The food is not health food, although there are vegetarian dishes on the menu. Everything is made with fresh, unadulterated, produce, meat, and ingredients. When we left--feeling full and happy--there were MANY people waiting for a table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eowyn1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing