We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza, hopping little place!”
Review of Cootie Brown's

Cootie Brown's
Ranked #4 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, hopping little place!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very busy on a typical Friday night! One slight drawback is no place to wait for a table indoors when it's raining. We shared a Jerk Chicken Pizza, it was awesome! Didn't partake in any beer as we were traveling thru town but they had quite a selection of bottled beers. Busy, but fast service and food prep so people can get in and out fairly quick. One of those places to check off your list if you are visiting, a must-try. Inexpensive kids meals help the families stay on budget.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    216
    77
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erwin, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic muffaletta and a great shrimp po' boy”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Tonight my wife and I chose Cootie Brown's for a early, light dinner. We arrived at 5 o'clock and requested inside seating. The restaurant has a unique decor. Funky murals and paisley colors, almost a Jamaican look, all very clean. The servers are young, attractive, energetic and knowledgeable of the very large menu. They have a good selection of bottled beer at reasonable prices. I chose.a Sweet Water IPA and Charlotte selected a Blue Moon. We also ordered a shrimp po' boy, a muffaletta and spiral potatoes. Spiral potatoes are very much like good home made potato chips, and even the small order is a very large portion. The po' boy contained six large butterflied shrimp,lettuce,,chopped tomatoes and remoulade sauce. The muffaletta was very authentic except for the bread,. Both sandwiches were great. The potatoes were good .Prices were excellent. Our first visit and well worth the trip from Erwin

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UNCLEJ2XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will go back!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very comfortable sitting outside (covered) with fans on a July evening...and I normally don't sit outside...service very good...food yummy...at our table the pizza was the best entree...going to try the coconut cake next time...very fun experience...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tolbert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not outstanding”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We visited based on other reviews and we were underwhelmed overall. The atmosphere is neat, but the food was just OK (goat cheese burger was over cooked, Cajun chicken was dry, maytag chips were soggy but tasted ok, and the orange cream cake was good but the icing had a weird taste, bitter almost). Not worth a second trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bamayi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great local place!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Can't go to Johnson City without a stop at Cootie Browns - Locals hang out here no because of the view, or fancy cuisine, but because they have great food at reasonable prices....Try the Tex-mex!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cootie Brown's also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Cootie Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing