We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasanga tasted like frozen lasagna”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #16 of 308 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lasanga tasted like frozen lasagna”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The bread was delicious, the server was great, but my lasagna had that "plastic" taste to it, like it had been frozen and heated in plastic. Please make your food from scratch...it tastes MUCH better that way. Unfortunately, I will probably not be back....unless they start making their food in house, that is....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocofoodowineoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chuckey, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Typically Mediocre”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We let our son pick a restaurant since we were celebrating his 20th birthday. When he selected Carrabba's I cringed a little but agreed to honor his selection. Previous experiences had not been great but it had been several years since we had eaten there. Well, it had not changed much. We had a large party and were seated next to the kitchen/grill. The noise level in the place was loud to begin with but being next to the kitchen made it even worse with the kitchen manager shouting out orders and staff yelling back. On top of that, the music was being played at a very high level. All of this made it difficult to talk to the person next to you and impossible to speak to anyone at the other end of the table. The food was only average at best and below average when you factor in the price. Service was ok but not great. You could easily get the same quality of food or better at Fazoli's and much better at Olive Garden. If you want to enjoy a good Italian meal take the time to search out a locally owned establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Royce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

service is the pits, staff needs to be trained better instead of these college kids talking among themselves instead of waiting on customers. Food is ok .Go to olive garden better staff and food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjj150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK for a chain”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We don't eat at Carrabb's a lot maybe once every 3 years. We found this restaurant the same as the others throughout the USA.
There was 5 of us dinning and my meal was left off the order. So there was a wait for mine. the manager comp a one free desert.
I do not believe that was the best way to handle that as then it mad the outers in our party maybe feel they need to order desert. So I got the desert to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeraldHirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have dined in this particular restaurant for several years and have always been pleased with the consistency of the food. The management is solid and the staff has always been very professional and courteous. The Chicken Bryan is a favorite of mine, but I have never been disappointed with any of the entrees. I highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to dining there again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing