We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Website said 2queen beds, they were full beds on a queen frame and had rails sticking out the sides of the bed which my family and I continued to trip over and got hurt on. They had queen or king sized sheets on the full beds that would not stay on during the night. Also the room had fleas! Thank God I bring fabreeze and cleaning products. Had to bleach the desk it was sticky and had stuck on grim also had to bleach the shower. My goals had yellow stains and the one wash cloth they provided had black stains all over it. Before I booked directly through them I inquired about the pool. I was told that it had just been redone and cleaned and is cleaned daily. Upon arriving at the pool for a swim the water was so dirty it was grey and you could see the dirt and grim from dirty people floating all over the water. The maid never changed the sheets or our bathroom towels the whole stay which was Friday checkin n Sunday check out. My neighbors were loud, had a party puked in front of my door and woke us up at 2:30 am. Found out the next day that they were basically living there and there was like 10 people and a dog in their family. I will never stay at another motel 6 despite the seemingly friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babebutterfly200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    13
    14
    26
See reviews for
24
20
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The pictures of the rooms are obviously pictures taken the day the place opened.....these "get your room cheaper" places need to send people to stay at the places they advertise on their sites. Carpet had s nasty,grimy feel and hadnt been vacuumed. Bathroom light wouldnt stay on. Hair in the tub and floor. Bathroom door looked like it had been glued back together over the past 20 yrs. Housekeepers never brought us towels and never "cleaned" our room for 3 days. And to top it off, some shady looking guy with a master key, came busting in the room during the middle of the day. I guess they thought noone was there. I was on edge the entire stay and decided to leave a day early... point blank, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delitha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johnson City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed in a Motel 6 before, and I never will again. We were in Asheville, NC, and were foolish enough to not book a room in advance. Everything within 50 miles was booked. We called Best Western to get us a room somewhere, anywhere, and they brought us to 70 miles Johnson City. When we arrived at the Best Western, there was no room available, so we were sent down the road to the Motel 6, which we were warned was not "our class of hotel." It was the middle of the night, and there had been no other rooms in a 75-mile radius, so we had no choice.

We took a suite in order to have a bed for our son. The property, even though it had exterior entrances smelled bad, like a mechanic's shop. There's a pool in the parking lot. The door didn't open properly, and we had to get assistance. Upon opening the door to our clearly-marked non-smoking room, we were knocked over by the smell of cigarette smoke. This was not a newly-converted non-smoking room, but clearly, neither the patrons nor the staff seemed to care. There were cigarette burns in the armchair and sofa. The sofa blanket stunk of it and had burn holes all over it. Have you ever seen those Goldilocks cartoons where she tries the bed that is too soft and falls right into the middle of it? That was the king bed. The sofa bed was in no better repair. There were holes worn right through the curtains from aging and decay. And, the air conditioner was left in some sort of disrepair.

There are two separate living areas with a tube television in the sitting room and a flat screen in the bedroom. There are two full bathrooms with a tub, toilet, and sink in each. If you are a heavy smoker who is accustomed to the stench and the burn holes, and you have no standards, this place might not be so bad for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CityOfBigShoulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Gross! Filthy! Mattress had blood or feces on it and they simply flipped it over. Floor had some gross substance on it. Microwave splattered with food and ramen noodles. Blanket and towels were dirty. I ended up going to the store and buying blankets and disinfecting wipes :( 11 hours from home and no other reasonable rooms in the area were available due to the race in bristol.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SMT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our toilet was stopped up and WE were given a plunger to take care of it ourselves! Ice machine was broken, dryer in laundry was broken, our window (on the 3rd floor) was partially open and we had a very hard time getting it closed! The towels were almost thin enough to see through, the pillows were horrible they were basically folded in half and shoved in a pillow case. No complimentary shampoo or conditioner, although for the price, THAT we didn't mind. The carpet was so dirty we didn't dare walk around barefoot. Most of the staff we came in contact with were friendly and polite with the exception of one night clerk that couldn't be bothered because he was "so busy" but when I came down to the lobby was outside chatting up a girl by the pool! There appeared to be some "shady activity" going on downstairs and in fact, one night in the wee hours the police apparently had to be called. The wifi only worked sporadically and when it did you would lose connection after 5 or 10 minutes. The facilities were in desperate need of some repairs, and the whole place needed a through cleaning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Horrible rooms. Overwhelming bleach smell throughout the hotel...what were you trying to kill???Had to practically break into the room because the door wouldn't open. Electrical outlets broken, sink wouldn't drain a microwave from prehistoric times...refrigerator froze all beverages, ice machine did not have ice for the population..and the list goes on. We left a day early so as not to catch anything. The premium prices were just due to the race, because they knew they had you. Had to buy fabreeze and Lysol to feel safe. Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent several nights here in late September of 2013, and my room was robbed of over $400 in cash by the hotel staff. I could not prove it, since it was cash, so the local police would not even file a report. It was either the management, maintenance staff, housekeepers or desk clerks as they all have master keys, and are a shaky looking lot. Outside of that, the place is a smoky musty toilet that Fairfield dumped several years ago, with 20 year old beds as hard as plywood.

Do your self a favor, and spend the money on the Marriot Courtyard or the Hampton Inn in this town, so you won't get robbed.

Room Tip: Great place to be robbed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Value Place Johnson City
Value Place Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Johnson City
2.6 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 207 East Mountcastle Drive, Johnson City, TN 37601 (Formerly Motel 6 Johnson City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Johnson City, Tennessee operating as Econolodge Inn & Suites. Our hotel recently changed brands under new ownership and have partnered with Choice Hotels. Here at Econolodge Inn & Suites we strive to meet guest expectations by providing a clean, quality stay to every guest. With our newly renovated rooms, we hope to continue building a positive reputation based on guest satisfacion. Although we cannot control the unexpected, our entire staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guests are satisfied with thier stay. We offer a full breakfast daily from 6:00 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Additionally we offer free wifi and HBO channels for all of our guest. Other amentities include an outdoor seasonal swimming pool, fitness center, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Johnson City
Johnson City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing