We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like it not love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Like it not love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I think my review was colored by being on the concierge level. I was able to upgrade for $9 per day (space available). The room was large, especially the bath. There was plenty of counter space to spread out. However, there were no towel racks in the room. OK if you change towels everyday but not so good for a longer stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was somewhat disappointed by the concierge lounge. I stayed a week and breakfast got monotonous. Scrambled eggs with some form of meat, cereals, the same pastries and fruit. (No waffle maker and the juice was behind the counter - ask the hostess). The biggest problem was the size. The lounge was carved from a standard room and seating was tight. When there were 10 guests the place felt crowded. The evening snacks had more variety. Overall it's worth the upgrade price. There is an indoor/outdoor pool - not heated brrrr. A small fitness center. Two big plusses is location - adjacent to a mall and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pay for concierge level, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secondtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    216
    113
    53
    26
See reviews for
205
122
35
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

A large property tucked in behind the shopping mall but not hard to find. Very comfortable beds, quiet rooms, good showers. Excellent price too! And of course the warm cookies! :) Would stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Johnson City. I will be sharing your kind words with our staff. We are so glad your stay was a comfortable one. We look forward to welcoming you back with our warm, signature DoubleTree cookies on your next visit to our area.
Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, Tn., United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel was centrally located. Staff was very nice and the food at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel was very clean. Had some noise from rude neighbors, but the problem was resolved quickly by security.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor Community. I'm thrilled your enjoyed our great staff, excellent food and found your room to be very clean. I am very sorry for the noise inconvenience due to a loud neighbor but am glad the issue was quickly taken care of. We stand ready to serve you on your next trip back to Johnson City.
Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is obviously very old, and dated. The rooms are typical Doubletree, and clean. The sink did not drain well at all. Went down to the restaurant for a drink. Bartenders were very nice. The breakfast was quite good. The front desk staff was very nice at check in. If you don't mind an old run down property with good amenities, and a good price then this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you very much for your candid, insightful review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed restaurant and lounge as well as our friendly staff but do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and update our property and will certainly keep your comments in mind. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the Johnson City area again.
Sincerely,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times and they have always done a great job with customer service and a nicely appointed room. As I am a Hilton Honors member, I always am treated as if I am special and I enjoy the experience. The hotel is always clean and the grounds are well kept. The rooms have a mini-fridge and a coffee pot. I will stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank tnchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and your kind comments regarding our staff and property. I will gladly share your review with our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johnson City.
Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Overall experience was very good, almost excellent, receptionist, staff courtesy , room was excellent, just a probably "minor" detail: I used the exercise room, and it was ok, but can improve by having the treadmill and elliptical machines facing the TV monitor, presently it is located facing just the two bicycles, so if using the treadmill and elliptical can hear, but not see...or if you do not want to turn these two machines 180 degrees, then install a second TV monitor in front of them, so guests can exercise while watching TV..... Guillermo Perez

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear our staff were courteous and you found your room to be excellent. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the placement of our cardio machines in the fitness room. After the beginning of 2014, we are scheduled to refresh our fitness room to include new cardio equipment. I am certain an improved design diagram will make this a much improved space but until then, we will certain take a look and see if there is any way we can move the machines into a more user-friendly arrangement. We appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration. If your travels bring you back to the Johnson City area, we stand ready to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I recently spent one night at this property. The room was very clean and comfortable. They allow pets for a $25 non-refundable deposit. Conveniently located to the interstate and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed a clean, comfortable room, and found our location to be convenient. I will share your kind comments with our staff and know that we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Johnson City area.
Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Address: 211 Mockingbird Lane, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Johnson City is conveniently located at the "Hub" of the Tri-Cities only 12 miles from Tri-Cities Regional Airport, serving Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City, Tennessee. The Johnson City Mall is immediately adjacent to our hotel. With easy access to I-81, I-26 and many other major highways, northeastern Tennessee and neighboring Virginia and North Carolina business centers and recreational attractions are just a short drive from our full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Johnson City
Johnson City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing