We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Double Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We travelled to Johnson City as a base for our holiday – the Double Tree is ideal – rooms, food, staff, bar, pool and location ideal for shopping and restaurants. Really friendly atmosphere in the hotel and bar, don’t miss the karaoke night and the girls will love the Mall over the road, ideally placed for the Smokey Mountains, Grandfather Mountain and the Blue Ridge highway plus much more. You cannot go wrong choosing this hotel.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Tugwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

Toilet in room would not flush unless handle is held down. Room had musty ordor. Did not consistently get a paper in the morning. 1st room assigned smelled like smoke.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browndog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We checked in and were told that since there was a big sporting event in town and there were lots of kids in the hotel, that they were upgrading us to an executive suite on the 5th floor. The rooms on the fifth floor have access to free continental breakfast - which was wonderful and free snacks at night - which were also wonderful. In addition, we were given complimentary hot breakfast coupons for the restaurant which we only used once because the continental breakfast was so great.

The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and every person on staff who we met were very friendly, helpful and courteous.

The hotel is across the street from a very nice mall, and very close to many good restaurants.

They make the most delicious chocolate chip cookies and keep them warm at the front desk. I mean it - they are GOOD!

If we are ever anywhere near here again we will certainly stay here. It is a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Checking in is easy, friendly staff, and of course the warm chocolate chip cookie! The rooms are modern. The most awesome part is their beds. Pure heavenly comfort and luxury. Clean bathroom with great amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonyaW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed her while in town for the Atlantic Sun tournament and I must say, find the negative reviews rather shocking. I had a terrific room, with an extremely comfortable bed. And as I've found in most Doubletree hotels, the service was top notch. Everyone had smiles on their faces and were persistent in making sure my stay was nothing but 100% positive without being overbearing, as I've found some hotels can be. A spacious and comfy room with a top-notch staff leaves me with no hesitations to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idreamofeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

In a hotel with many limited-service properties, I was excited to find a full-service DoubleTree. What a disappointment. This property was a lot more like an average Holiday Inn than it was a DoubleTree.

I had a very late arrival after a long day of flying that included a few delays. After such travel experiences, you want a smooth check-in and nice room that allows for a solid night's sleep. The hotel provided neither one!

Check-in was a disaster. My Hilton HHonors membership, nor elite status, was recognized at check-in. I was given a key and when I arrived at the room, the key didn't work (the room lock just flashed red over and over). I went back down to the desk (bags and all), and I was issued new keys for the same room. Same problem, meaning that I had to return to the desk again. This time, I was assigned a different room. The keys finally worked to the new room.

Unfortunately, the room wasn't very nice. Its decor was fine, but the desk lamp was burned out, the dresser doors were totally broken (all pulled off their tracks; two were half-hanging out of the dresser), and the doors to my room and others in the hallway were all beaten up. My room's air conditioning did function, but made several loud noises all evening long.

The hotel just had an old, tired feeling; this was not helped by the room's average cleanliness (dusty corners, etc.) and the food and trash that lined the hallway (it had been hours since anyone had been by to pick up room service trays, wrappers, etc.).

This was not a good experience. There are limited service properties in Johnson City that will offer far better accommodations and more competitive prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I was there for my 50th bday and I was so pleased with the room and the great service. Going back to stay there in Nov

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisterbabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
463 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Johnson City
1.0 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City

Address: 211 Mockingbird Ln, Johnson City, TN 37604-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Johnson City is conveniently located at the "Hub" of the Tri-Cities only 12 miles from Tri-Cities Regional Airport, serving Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City, Tennessee. The Johnson City Mall is immediately adjacent to our hotel. With easy access to I-81, I-26 and many other major highways, northeastern Tennessee and neighboring Virginia and North Carolina business centers and recreational attractions are just a short drive from our full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Johnson City
Johnson City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing