We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haunting in Jonesborough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Storytelling Center

International Storytelling Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In our age of fast-moving technology, it seems unlikely that thousands of audience members could spend a weekend mesmerized by the voices of storytellers. But that's exactly what happens in Jonesborough every year, starting the first Friday in October and running through the weekend. The National Storytelling Festival began in 1973 when 60 people came to hear a few Appalachian tales from the back of a hay wagon parked beside the town courthouse. In the decades since, those 60 people have grown to 10,000, and the hay wagon has been replaced by large, circus-like tents raised throughout the town. Those first mountain tales are supplemented now with stories from around the globe, spiked with the flair of poetry, blues, ballads and banjo. The Festival encompasses a wealth of cultures, traditions and styles- a world of stories within one small, historic town.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Haunting in Jonesborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went as a group to take the ghost walk through Jonesborough and cemetery as well as a private investigation. Rob was knowledgeable, had some neat sensing equipment and was a fun storyteller on the ghost walk. The walk included a tour of the cemetery. His staff joined us for the investigation of a rural home that served temporarily as a medical hospital during the civil war. This home is being restored and is enjoyable to tour even without a ghost history. Two areas, the amputation room and the slave quarters under the front porch and house were particularly creepy. Rob, Cathy and the staff work very well to be hospitable, fun, and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    15
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing and enriching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've lived in Jonesborough for 17 years, and have attended at least part of the festival every one of those years. The tellers are all immensely talented people from all over the world, with stories that have made me laugh, cry, stand up and cheer, and think really hard about life and how we live it. Not once in 17 years have I been disappointed with any aspect of the festival. The food is good and affordable, the crowds are polite overall, and people come from all over the country to attend. It's an experience I would recommend to anyone who loves stories and/or culture. It's also a wonderful way to unplug for just a little while, to turn off the electronics and be entertained by the simple, ancient craft of storytelling as practiced by masters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First weekend in October for 3 days and nights. Hear wonderful storytellers in Tennessee's oldest town sitting under tents. Audiences enthralled. Have been going for 30 years and always have it on our calendar. Well worth the price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford Tn.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“storytelling in jonesborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've never been to the storytelling festival but worked parking cars there for David Crockett High School Booster Club and we would always see tags on cars all the way from California and as far as Canada so if you made a trip here for the Festival the 1st week in Oct. i think you would be pleasantly suprised in How well you would be treated here in our small town of Jonesborough. The Storytellers I've been told from locals here are very entertaining.Enjoy your stay!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevierville
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You shouldnt be disappointed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My cousin and I went this past year to the festival. I recommend it to anyone with a passion for literature or even just to get your mind off of worldly problems. It was a wonderful expierence and I think everyone should get the pleasure to visit this beautiful town at least once. You shouldnt be disappointed. Good food, good people, and good fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carmen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Storytelling Center also viewed

 

Been to International Storytelling Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing