We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Motel 6 Kingsport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Kingsport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Martell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We knew we were staying during a busy weekend but those people staying that said they were not there for the race only had to about a 1/3 of what the race fans paid. I also called within an hour of leaving the hotel letting them know I left a very important necklace in the room on the sink. They claim they all looked for it but it was not found. I went through all of my things and I don't have it. I specifically remember where I left it and I feel that maybe someone thought it was nice enough for them to keep for themselves. Very sad that the rooms weren't clean, the hot breakfast wasn't very good and our room was not ready until after 4 pm and now I can't get my necklace back since I live over a 1,000 miles away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    10
    9
    19
See reviews for
17
16
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

After a bad storm knocked out power, I went searching for a place close to home that I could go with my husband and our two pugs if we needed to.

The women at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly, offered a discount due to the emergency, and said the pugs were welcome. They reserved me a room with just my ID--did not require a credit card, and said if the power wasn't on by three pm they would have a room waiting for us. Fortunately, the power came back on at 2:45, but I really appreciated the fact that they were there, they were friendly and helpful, and if he situation arises again, I will go there first.

Oh--and across the parking lot is an Italian restaurant that has the best spinach calzone *ever.* So there is good food in the vicinity. Lots of fast food restaurants, too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raynoldsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteille, Ga
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

After checking in, I first noticed the stained carpet. Several dark spots starting at the door, to bed, to bath.
I made the unfortunate decision to stay anyhow.
Woke up cold twice, thinking the heat wasn't working. The second trip back to the bed I felt a breeze at my feet. No weather stripping under the door. Had to place a coat on the floor to stop the wind from blowing in. Then woke up sweating at 3:30 a.m. Had to adjust the heating to allow for my makeship insulation. Next morning the manager offered $5 off bill. Having had no rest, and past experience of the quality guarentee's of Best Western, I had to ask if I was at a Best Western or not. Did not take the $5 and then skipped the breakfast bar. Food was scattered on the tables and the bar itself and only cereal was available as far as I could see. Not all Best Western's are like this. The one in Kingsport might well be renamed the Don't Drop Inn

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBRFayetteille_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingsport hotels

Letcher County,Ky.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Had reservations at Holiday Inn Express for a getaway with the husband. Upon check in, the clerk told me I could pay in cash,but he still had to authorize my debit card for the toal amount of the room. Not wanting to do that since it would put a hold on my money, I set out searching for another room. We came across the Best Western and decided to give it a try. It's an older hotel and I was hesitant to go in,but was surprised at what I found. The room was not small, and was extremely clean. The fridge and microwave looked to be new. There was even name brand shampoo, conditioner and body lotion on the sink.
The bed was firm,but that's what I have at home. The clerk was friendly and I used my AAA card for a discount, as well as a coupon. The breakfast was just fine,with cereals, waffles, sausage biscuits etc. I will recommend this hotel to family & friends and plan to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Cleanliness and Cost were fine... but the room was stifling HOT all night. This was December, temperature outside was near freezing, and I had to turn on the A/C full blast to compensate. To be fair I didn't complain to the desk, as by the time I realized what was happening, it was late at night and I didn't feel like moving rooms...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

A/C was out in our motor home had stayed at Best Westerns before. Carpet Torn by door, cleaner they used was overpowering, wanted king or queen none available. Frame on one of the beds broken, unable yo use it, no other rooms available. Manager acted like didn't believe us, came to room and saw it was broke, gave us a measly $5 off the bill. Would never recommend

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash DC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We reserved a room with 2 double beds and the room we got had 1 queen bed. When we asked for the correct room we were told there were no other rooms available. When they gave us 2 rollaway beds we had to move the furniture in the room around to try to get enough room to sleep. Once the rollaways were open we had no space at all to walk in the room. The next morning housekeeping began knocking on our door around 9am asking us when we would be leaving. Since we had been driving until late the previous night to get there it was very inconsiderate for the housekeepers to wake us up multiple times to ask us when we were leaving. The housekeepers acted extremely annoyed everytime they ame by. Check out time was 11am but they were rude about trying to rush us out of our room at 9am. The stay was miserable. I was severely dissappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJonesWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Kingsport
135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
#8 of 16 in Kingsport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Travel Inn Kingsport
Travel Inn Kingsport
#13 of 16 in Kingsport
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#11 of 16 in Kingsport
68 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 16 in Kingsport
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingsport

Property: Motel 6 Kingsport
Address: 4234 Fort Henry Dr, I-81 Highway 36 @ Exit 59, Kingsport, TN 37663-2228 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingsport 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Tri City Airport, Fort Patrick Henry Lake, Washington County Fairgrounds, East Tennessee University, University of Tennessee, Wetlands Waterpark, Medview Convention Center, Eastman Chemical Plant, Boone Lake and Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau. The Colonial Inn Kingsport offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock, electronic door locks and wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Kingsport
Best Western Kingsport
Kingsport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing