We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than desired”
Review of Comfort Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn South
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Less than desired”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Breakfast was donuts and coffee. Vending machine states health violation and what hotel makes the door knobs go up instead of down. No one knew how to get in their room. Right off I81 but Very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyld4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    16
    13
    11
See reviews for
22
16
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchland, West Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

booked this on our way to pigeon forge, got there the pool was closed! its summer time & it looked as if they had no intentions of opening it! thankfully i got there before the time was up to cancell, we went next door to the holiday inn express that had a very nice indoor pool

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingsport hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed here on a business trip end of May, 2012. It's typical for a "mature" Comfort Inn. Inside corridors are a plus. Room was a bit worn, and the sheet metal bed pedestal was actually broken. It made loud noises, but did not collapse, thankfully. Bathroom was TINY and the countertop was extremely small. Not even enough room to spread my toiletry bag open. TV had most of the cable channels, but had not been upgraded to Flat-Screen, which is starting to be a disqualifier for me. There is NO FITNESS ROOM! Business travelers might find that unacceptable as well.

Breakfast was typical Choice Hotel fare. At least the eggs were a rubber-sole omlette kind of deal and not the screw-ball powdered scrambled eggs Choice properties usually serve. Go with the hard-boiled eggs if you want eggs.

WiFi was OK. Supported Netflix.

AARP Rate was $72.89, which is not a bargain for the location. Feels more like a $59.95 hotel to me. Probably will not use this one on my next trip to Tri-Cities area. Not a good value and needs some work.

Room Tip: All are probably the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is another Choice property that is worth the stop over if you need clean comfortable accommodations. Front desk personnel are extremely friendly and helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Had to come down the road because of bad experence in Bristol, But very very very glad I did. This hotel was 100 time nicer than the comfort inn in Bristol, Staff was great and very helpful, Breakfast could hve been better, although I think that when the breakfast is good because I live in Hotels. Hotel was just off interstate 81 with a Perkins right next door (10% discount with your room key). Room was clean and hotel was very nice. The only thing was the parking lot is very small. I have a large vehicle so this is just a issue to me if you are in a car there is plenty of parking. The Value was excelent rate was over $10.00 less than in Bristol.

Room Tip: stayed on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Comfort Inn is conveniently located off of Interstate 81 and a very short walk to a very nice Perkins restaurant. The room itself was not very clean. The carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed after the previous guest. The bathroom floor is tiled, and the grout is either stained or very dirty. My key card failed on two occasions during a two-day stay and had to be reprogrammed both times. The reponse from the person behind the counter was that it must have expired. The breakfast was very nice, not a lot of extras, but well maintained with plenty to eat. For the most part, the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Probably so; the price was right and overall if wasn't a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here 10/27/11 for one night. When we were leaving to go down to breakfast we observed a bug on one of the pillows. We removed the bedding and found serveral bugs. We caught three and took them to the front desk/manager. He told us they were ticks. We checked out and took the bugs home in a ziplock. Three exterminators verfied that they were bed bugs. We have called the corporate office, Choice Hotels, and the independent owner. The owner denies they have bed bugs but there is a previous report from a customer in July of this year on www.bedbugregistry.com. We have also contacted TN State Health Department. My wife was bitten twice on the chest and we are not able to bring our suitcases inside our home until we are certain they are all dead. It's been a nightmare!!

Room Tip: Check mattresses and wall behind bed for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eilish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Kingsport
137 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 16 in Kingsport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 16 in Kingsport
463 reviews
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 16 in Kingsport
42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
#8 of 16 in Kingsport
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South

Property: Comfort Inn South
Address: 4624 Fairlane Dr., Kingsport, TN 37663-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great day is a great night at our newly renovated Comfort Inn South in Kingsport Tennessee. We are conviently located near the Tri-City Airport and Bristol Motor Speedway. Whether you are here on vacation or a business traveler our friendly staff is ready to make sure your rested and ready for your busy days ahead. We invite you to come and relax in our newly renovated rooms featuring : Premium Bedding , 32 in flat screen televisions, refridgerators and microwaves . Lots more amenities await your arrival here at Comfort Inn South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing