We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast buffet, but expensive”

The Meadows Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 246 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Partake in an unrivaled Kingsport restaurant experience as you indulge in continental cuisine at The Meadows. Featuring a sophisticated wine list complimented by regional fare, our restaurant in Kingsport, TN is sure to please the most discerning palate.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good breakfast buffet, but expensive”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The breakfast buffet is good, quality food. It includes scrambled eggs, poached-egg-size souffles, bacon, biscuits, gravy, oatmeal, grits, hashbrowns, cereals, and cold continental breakfast items. There is a chef who will cook the omelet of your choice or a waffle. However, only the cold items are complimentary with a room for Rewards Members paying with points, and neither the hostess nor the server (nor the check-in clerk) specified that. Upon checkout, I found out the hot buffet items (not the ones the chef cooks) are an additional $5 per person. My one egg was not worth that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thanksgiving Day Buffet!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our party of 8 had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal, at The Meadows Restaurant, yesterday. The food has always been very good there, but was exceptional for Thanksgiving. The service, provided by George, was outstanding. For many years we made the trip over the mountain, to Grove Park, for our holiday meals. We find the food, at Meadowview, to be far better than Grove Park, the staff friendlier, and the drive much shorter. Now, we are looking forward to Christmas at Meadowview!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Savannah51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Meadows Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My friends gather there about once a month for lunch. The lunch buffet is not as large as the Sunday one,,but 2-3 soups, salads, sandwich fixings, and dessert is great for seniors at $12.00 which includes drink.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Marriott facility has high end meals that you would expect from the company. But over the 10+ years it has been open, they have pared down the selection they offer on their weekend breakfast and brunch bar, so that now it is just ordinary, though certainly better than chains Perkins and Cracker Barrel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank giguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

There were eight of us for dinner and we chose the seafood buffet on Friday night. Most members of our party indulged in the crab legs and had plenty, believe me. We also enjoyed the haddock, salmon, and sides. There were numerous desserts so everyone found something that made them happy. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient. We would certainly return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meadows Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Meadows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing